Tender Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
No need to add water -- the potatoes provided plenty of liquid so the milk and egg were enough. My mashed potatoes had the skins on them still, which added a pleasant color and texture to the otherwise-pale biscuits. I had put garlic, rosemary, and thyme, in the potatoes, which tasted wonderful in the biscuits, adding lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
These were delicious! I made the recipe as directed, but doubled it. I thought "8 servings" would mean 8 biscuits, but I ended up with 24! Not complaining at all (and neither are my kids). One thing to note with this recipe (and all biscuit recipes): essential to keep ingredients cold. The butter needs to be hard, straight from the fridge. If it's softened or melted, the dough will be too sticky to handle. Use cold water and cold milk, and make sure the mashed potatoes are at least room temperature (although the dough will be easier to handle if they've been refrigerated). We ate these with turkey and gravy for lunch on the day after Thanksgiving... couldn't have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These were the best biscuits I've ever made, and I've made thousands. They came out so light and fluffy that I had to use a lot of will power not to eat half the batch immediately. They were even good warmed up in the microwave the next morning. Served with honey/butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Great idea for left-over potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I thought this recipe was just okay, although my family seemed to like it. I substituted all milk for the liquid, cut the sugar down to 1/8 cup, added some grated cheddar, and used garlic salt instead of regular. I brushed the tops of them with melted butter instead of milk. They sort of reminded me of the Red Lobster biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made these exactly like the recipe, and I agree with some others that the dough needs more flour. I had to add quite a bit on the board to be able to knead and roll them out. Very sticky dough. But the flavor is very good. I think I'll stick with my standard biscuit recipe for the most part, but this was a new way to use up leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These are delicious! A great way to use up some leftover mashed potatoes! Thanks so much for the recipe! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marissajoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loma Rica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These are AWESOME!!! I added about a cup of sharp cheddar cheese and these were to die for....RAVE reviews from all who consumed them. so moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So I had left over mashed potatoes and didn't want to throw them out. Came on the sight and found this recipe. WOW! Glad I stumbled upon this one. I followed the recipe exactly. I mean I didn't change a thing. Tender, fluffy biscuits turned out. I had 18 good sized biscuits and my kids loved them. Even my picky eater husband liked them. Thanks for the recipe. I will never again throw away my mashed potatoes. Next time I will try to throw in some grated cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
These were fabulous!!! My only change would be to leave out the sugar. They taste fine with it, but for a more savory biscuit, I'd leave it out. Still, great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States