Tender Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
These were perfect! I used very thick and lumpy real mashed potatoes, and I still had to add just a titch more flour. Delicious and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I have to give these five stars. I mixed mine in the mixer so I didn’t have a problem with too much liquid. I only added till the dough was right. Mine came out light and soft with a good taste. You could add less sugar or no sugar. One other thing I did was use potato flakes, which gave them a slight potato taste without adding moisture. Overall a very good recipe. This one is my new favorite biscuit recipe. Definitely a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
These were really good. Like other reviewers, I felt the dough was sticky so I added a little more flour. Also, the biscuits did stick to my non-stick cookie sheet - so I'll spray it first next time. However, I agree that this is a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. The whole family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
To lessen the calories, I substituted 1/3 cup Splenda for the sugar and reduced fat margarine. I also substituted Egg Beaters for the egg. I agree, the liquids are too much. Next time I will completely eliminate the water. Sprayed the sheet because I didn't want them to stick. This was a nice way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
We were disappointed. My husband made them & had to add a lot of extra flour because they were so sticky. Doubt if we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
These biscuits rise nicely and have a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Pretty good biscuits! The recipe definitely needs an additional 1/4 cup of flour, plus maybe a little more. I ended up with 10 good sized tender and moist biscuits. They're a tiny bit more on the dense side than light and airy. They're also slightly sweet. I would imagine if you cut the sugar down a tad and added some shredded cheddar and garlic salt, they would make good potato cheese biscuits- I'll have to try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
It is important to use fairly dry mashed potatoes otherwise the dough will be too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I'm not sure if I did something wrong but I had to add A LOT more flour to this dough to get it to a kneading consistency. It started out more like a batter. They then seemed to be lacking a little flavor. Other reviews have been quite favorable, however, so I may give them a try another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
The biscuits were very tasty and even my picky mom liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States