Tender Pheasants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was fantastic! The entire family loved it. I did add about 2 tbsp of flour to thicken. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Long

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anewport
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was the first time for me to cook pheasant. I was so worried it'd turn out wrong and I'd ruin a great hunt of my husbands! So I thought surely I could handle cream of mushroom and sour cream! Oh my word. So yummy. I did what others recommended to cut back water to 1/2 c and I think the sauce turned out perfect. I also only used one pheasant and a couple quail. I couldn't imagine this recipe with 3 quail, not enough of this super yummy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
So good! This is the only pheasant recipe I've tried that is delicious! The meat want dry at all...and pheasant usually is so dry. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This was a great way to cook up some of our pheasants. I've made it twice, the first time on low, second time on high. Definitely cook it on low. Cooking it on high dried out the birds even with the shorter cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
My 8 year old son and I made this for our thanksgiving bird feast and loved it. As a side I added italian stuffing mix to the juice in the crockpot after sifting out the meat and bones. The stuffing was a last minute decision that turned out as a success for my son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
The recipe was easy to follow and my husband said that this was the best pheasant he's ever had. The meat was tender, moist and absolutely delicious. We did not mix in the onion soup but added several other flavor mixes. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
When my husband goes pheasant hunting, I always cook the birds in the crock pot this way. It keeps the meat moist and tender. After its done cooking, I take the bacon and skin of the bird and fry them until crisp in about 1tablespoon of butter. While that's cooking, my husband will strain the broth and then get all the meat off the bones... Pheasant can be a pretty bony bird. This is also important because you want to make sure you remove any bebes that could be stuck in the bird from when you shot it. After all the meat is removed and set aside, we save the bones to make stock. Once the bacon and skins are nice and crisp, I remove them from the pan and add flour to the fat to make a rue which I use to thicken the cooking broth. I put the meat back into the thickened sauce and season to taste. I like to add a small pinch of nutmeg to really being out the earthy flavor of the dish. I serve this over brown rice withe the bacon and crispy skins crumbuked on top. goes well with a side of fresh brussel sprouts. So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I always have pheasant in my freezer it seems and I'm always looking for new ways to prepare it. This recipe caught my eye and am I ever glad I made this! The pheasant was so tender and moist it fell right off the bones. I made mashed potatoes to go with it and used the sauce as a gravy. It had great taste. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Very delicious, moist and flavorful. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I was really pleased with this recipe. I used one smallish pheasant and one large, which fit nicely into my large slow cooker. I only had 8 strips of bacon, only 1/2 cup of sour cream and all the other ingredients and it came out perfectly moist, falling off the bone after 6 hours on medium/high setting (my cooker has 4 settings). Served it with fresh asparagus and wild rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States