Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is an excellent recipe for juicy, crispy chicken breast. I always read other reviews before trying any recipe and took the advise of another to put the chicken on a slotted baking pan to keep it from getting soggy. I didn't have any tarragon or ginger, but the crust was very well seasoned even without it. The mustard gave it a nice bite. However I did cut back on the pepper as suggested. I did find that the recommended amount of oil was not sufficient though. The flour soaked up a lot more than what was called for. You won't be sorry that you made this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe - brought back memories of My Auntie Grace & Great Auntie Vera's awesome chicken.This is also good when chilled ,then sliced on diagonally, added to salads, served on a bed of rice- or steamed spinach, its very versatile. I have some tips that work well: *lower the salt/pepper amount *add 1- 1+1/2 tablespoon of garlic powder(best brand is Pride of Szegeo) I buy mine at The Butchers Shop or try a Deli. *set up EVERYTHING needed before hand and use tongs only to move chicken breasts, always grabbing at the same spot so the coating doesn't get messed up, if you have two tongs then even better-one for the egg mix & one for the flour mix +the flour tong is used to also cook/remove meat from deep skillet & best pan to use is cast iron *used 1/2 - 3/4 cup of solid crisco * this also is great on scallopini-style meats of chicken, turkey, or pork -kind of like a thin schnitzel. * the resting periods are crucial to success as is using a rack- I used my huge cookie sheet & put my large cake cooling rack on top, than laid down the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lv2ck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made this last night and I thought it was just okay-I did not like the fact that it became soggy on the bottom side after baking. However, my husband and mother in law really liked it! I did cut down on the salt and pepper-actually cut both in half. Next time I may try to bake the chicken breasts on some sort of rack-maybe they would not get soggy that way. I liked the idea of baking due to the fact that most often chicken breasts dry out when you fry them-and I don't like dark meat! I will try again with a few adjustments! Pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaysMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The chicken breasts were crispy and moist. Although there are a lot of herbs in the breading, they really add to the flavor. However, way too much pepper and salt. I'd recommend using only a teaspoon pepper and no more than 1 tablespoon salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
My husband does not like chicken breasts, because they are too dry after cooking, so I usually buy only dark meat chicken. However, I had some boneless skinless breasts I bought on sale and decided to use them for this recipe. I used less of each spice than called for but, otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. They were so juicy, and the flavor so delicious, that I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Made this a few days ago and my husband and I love it. I didn't have thyme or tarragon, but the breading mixture still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Ummmm, I'm really sorry, we just didn't like these at all. The ginger was overpowering from start to finish. It's all you smell, it'a all you taste. I love ginger but not in this recipe. They were edible but I won't be making them again. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This chicken was very moist on the inside and crispy on the outside. My husband and teenage kids like it. The combination of spices in the coating was a little too complex. I would probably simplify the spices next time I make this. Overall it was tasty and not too difficult. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I liked it at first but after a couple of bites the black pepper was biting back. I did enjoy using all of the different seasonings, it made me feel like a chef, lol. It did come out moist and crispy, and I liked that. I would definitely cut way back by at least half on the pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I made the recipe as stated & it was extremely dry & tasteless. Will make a sauce to go with it the next time. I made it with Costco frozen chicken breasts & thinking maybe that's why it was so blah. Will try fresh chicken & try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nana2elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States