Tender Onion Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I needed something quick for dinner tonight and this fit with what I had on hand. I wish I would have read the reviews first, I agree that it was too salty. I did it different though. I mixed the soup mix with some seasoned bread crumbs. I dipped the tenders into the butter then into the soup mix and crumb mixture and then put it into the pan. I drizzled the left over butter over the top of the tenders then put into the oven. They were tasty and quick. Next time I may reduce the soup mix to cut some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I made this because it was such a quick meal to fix...This recipe is a good example of the importance of not being in a hurry! Way too salty...overpowering flavor from the onion soup packet. Not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTIETEMA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was surprisingly good. I did think it was too salty as well from the mix. I would advise to use 1/2 as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Quick and easy recipe. I read the other reviewers comments, and only used half of the onion soup mix, cutting out the additional salt altogether. I also served it with plain couscous, which toned down the saltiness of the chicken. All in all, it came out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Really surprisingly tasty and satisfying. I omitted the extra salt & pepper and only used 1/2 packet for 4 chicken breasts. Just sprinkle on as you would any seasoning, you'll know when to stop. Pour the melted butter on first so you don't wash off the soup mix, but go easy enough on the butter that the onions have a chance to get crispy. I served w/ plain white rice and a salad. 4 breasts only took 23 minutes to bake, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
I made this as the recipe calls, only I added about a cup of sliced mushrooms to it. Chicken was most and flavorful, but too salty (I did not add any salt). The gravy it made was nice with mashed potatoes. It was OK, not bad for so little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Another variation of this is to cut out 1/2 cup of water and to add 1/2 cup of sherry. It really adds flavor and the chicken is still really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
We really enjoyed this dinner. The only change I made was to not add the additional salt as the onion soup mix already has plenty of salt. It is a very quick dinner to put together. Lay the chicken in pan, pour over butter and soup mix and pop in the oven. While the chicken was baking I made white sticky rice to go with the chicken, and "Skillet Cabbage" from this site. Dinner was good and I will make this recipe again. Thanks Kim in Oklahoma for sharing your chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Nothing fancy, but easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This was a good quick recipe that we have used several times. Its a little salty if your not a big salt fan but great for a quick dinner when cooking is not something you feel like doing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theboyzmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States