Tender Crisp Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
As I write this I am only this recipe's 12th reviewer, which I can only guess is because it has an average rating of a mere 3-1/2 stars. I'm hoping to boost that, as this recipe is simply underrated. I disagree with the few reviewers who found these "tasteless" and/or "cake-like" and if they had to be thrown out I respectfully suggest the baker must have done something wrong. There are a few types of sugar cookies - chewy, soft, firm, light, crispy, tender - and the list goes on. These are light as air, tender and crispy, which cream of tartar always seems to contribute. The flavor is subtle, perfect for embellishing with frosting, decorating sugars, chocolate glazes, cherries, rolling in cinnamon-sugar or whatever else you fancy. Just as good plain, too, when you don't want something overwhelmingly sweet. This was a nice dough to work with, easy to mix up, and I had them in and out of the oven in just minutes. I decorated them for Christmas by rolling them in green and red decorator sugars before flattening them slightly. There is everything to like about this cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I am on a quest to find the best sugar cookie recipe. Sadly, this was not what I was looking for. If you like cakey sugar cookies, you might like these. They taste about like the sugar cookies you can buy from Walmart with the frosting on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I love sugar cookies and these are the best sugar cookies I have ever made. And No cookie cutters necessary!! You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Wow, I couldn’t believe it when I found this recipe. It is almost the exact recipe my mom has made ever since I can remember (her recipe adds 1 tsp more salt). She told me her best friend gave her the recipe 45 years ago. Her recipe even has the same name, Tender Crisp Sugar Cookies. Depending upon how you bake these they turn out differently. I have rolled them out thick with a short cooking time and they turn out very soft and stay soft and are great with icing. I have just used them as a drop cookie, or my mom likes to roll them out thin to make them crispy and then frost or sugar them. My husband likes them when I roll them into balls then press them slightly with a glass and when they are fresh out of the oven I sprinkle them with sugar. I like them with chocolate icing. My crazy son likes them best when I make them with less flour (he calls them sugar cookies made wrong because I accidently left out TWO cups of flour once) they really spread when baking, but turned out chewy and good. This is an all time favorite that can be eaten plain, sugared or iced, dropped, rolled out or rolled into a ball. Love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I was about to submit this recipe when I realized it was already here! I changed the scaling/serving amount to 20 though and use 1 cup butter and no shortening. These are the cookies my Grandma used to make. They are fabulous! The only difference in my recipe is "chilling for two hours or overnight and flattening with a glass dipped in powdered sugar before baking." Can't believe anyone wouldn't love these cookies! My entire family does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemmonsgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I made thesefor my son's 1st grade Valentine's party this past week. This worked just fine. I dipped the cookies in red sugar crystals and 22 first graders, 2 teachers, my 4-year old, and my husband wolfed them down and asked for more. For others who tried the recipe and were disappointed in the taste, I wonder if perhaps they are used to rolled, soft/chewy sugar cookies, or those made with lemon extract. As for the comment that they "taste about like the sugar cookies you can buy from Walmart with the frosting on them," I would have to disagree. This is a basic sugar cookie recipe that tastes great with coffee, cocoa, etc. The only trouble I had was with the dough being a bit soft, but I'm sure that was my fault because I was mixing too vigorously and lost a bit of the flour mixture at one point. I just sprinkled a bit of flour over the mixture, worked it in, and it was fine. Still too soft? Refrigerate for 10 minutes for a more cohesive dough that is still easily shaped. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
Best crsipy style sugar cookie around! Don't need any frosting. Makes a huge batch and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I made over 100 of these for my husband's school fundraiser. It was difficult to tell when they were cooked through-the first batch was a little under-done. It took about 17 minutes a batch to get them baked just right. These were not quite as sweet as I hoped they would be, but I'm sure the frosting the students added made up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I made these cookies at Christmas time.They came out very crisp and had an excellent taste. I cant believe they wouldve gotten any bad reviews. They are similar to a recipe I had years ago and lost from my ex mother in law. I was so thankful to get it again!! These will definitely be made again, especially at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Cleaver Geitner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This recipe has the exact same proportions as "No Roll" & almost identical to "Sugar Cookies V". SCV has a little less flour. Sum it up? If you tried one, you've tried them all. Not a bad cookie, but not a great choice for cutouts. I liked "sugar cookies with buttercream frosting" better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States