Tender Crisp Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
As I write this I am only this recipe's 12th reviewer, which I can only guess is because it has an average rating of a mere 3-1/2 stars. I'm hoping to boost that, as this recipe is simply underrated. I disagree with the few reviewers who found these "tasteless" and/or "cake-like" and if they had to be thrown out I respectfully suggest the baker must have done something wrong. There are a few types of sugar cookies - chewy, soft, firm, light, crispy, tender - and the list goes on. These are light as air, tender and crispy, which cream of tartar always seems to contribute. The flavor is subtle, perfect for embellishing with frosting, decorating sugars, chocolate glazes, cherries, rolling in cinnamon-sugar or whatever else you fancy. Just as good plain, too, when you don't want something overwhelmingly sweet. This was a nice dough to work with, easy to mix up, and I had them in and out of the oven in just minutes. I decorated them for Christmas by rolling them in green and red decorator sugars before flattening them slightly. There is everything to like about this cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I made over 100 of these for my husband's school fundraiser. It was difficult to tell when they were cooked through-the first batch was a little under-done. It took about 17 minutes a batch to get them baked just right. These were not quite as sweet as I hoped they would be, but I'm sure the frosting the students added made up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I do cutouts with this recipe. Very light and slightly crisp- everyone loves them. I use butter flavored shortening, though. I think that that adds to the flavor. Grrreat recipe. Thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I was about to submit this recipe when I realized it was already here! I changed the scaling/serving amount to 20 though and use 1 cup butter and no shortening. These are the cookies my Grandma used to make. They are fabulous! The only difference in my recipe is "chilling for two hours or overnight and flattening with a glass dipped in powdered sugar before baking." Can't believe anyone wouldn't love these cookies! My entire family does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemmonsgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I made these cookies at Christmas time.They came out very crisp and had an excellent taste. I cant believe they wouldve gotten any bad reviews. They are similar to a recipe I had years ago and lost from my ex mother in law. I was so thankful to get it again!! These will definitely be made again, especially at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wandageitner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I made thesefor my son's 1st grade Valentine's party this past week. This worked just fine. I dipped the cookies in red sugar crystals and 22 first graders, 2 teachers, my 4-year old, and my husband wolfed them down and asked for more. For others who tried the recipe and were disappointed in the taste, I wonder if perhaps they are used to rolled, soft/chewy sugar cookies, or those made with lemon extract. As for the comment that they "taste about like the sugar cookies you can buy from Walmart with the frosting on them," I would have to disagree. This is a basic sugar cookie recipe that tastes great with coffee, cocoa, etc. The only trouble I had was with the dough being a bit soft, but I'm sure that was my fault because I was mixing too vigorously and lost a bit of the flour mixture at one point. I just sprinkled a bit of flour over the mixture, worked it in, and it was fine. Still too soft? Refrigerate for 10 minutes for a more cohesive dough that is still easily shaped. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I am on a quest to find the best sugar cookie recipe. Sadly, this was not what I was looking for. If you like cakey sugar cookies, you might like these. They taste about like the sugar cookies you can buy from Walmart with the frosting on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I tried this recipe and it didn't have any taste. I threw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
VERY bland, definitely not one member of my family liked this sugar cookie recipe. Dough wouldn't stay together very well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States