Tender Crisp Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I love these they're so fun, and they taste great. Thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
wonderful recipe , tender with just enough crisp , they didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaZacsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These make a ton of cookies, so be prepared to be baking for a while! I think they are great. I used them to make spiral snowman cookies (you basically roll the dough then roll into a spiral and decorate for snowman) that I plan to finish decorating with a friend and her 3 1/2 yr old daughter. for those, they are a bit crumbly, but as long as they are cold and you roll them well, these cookies work easily enough. They don't have a ton of flavor, true, but they're sugar cookies, which are generally decorated with frosting or sugar or whatever, and I think they are perfect for that. They aren't very sweet at all, so you can go to town wtih decorating, so that's great! They rise well and bake out so allow for some room on the cookie sheet. They are great for what I wanted. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This recipe has the exact same proportions as "No Roll" & almost identical to "Sugar Cookies V". SCV has a little less flour. Sum it up? If you tried one, you've tried them all. Not a bad cookie, but not a great choice for cutouts. I liked "sugar cookies with buttercream frosting" better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This a really great sugar cookie, they are rich and crispy and are much lighter than the rolled sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Great recipe, made exactly as suggested. I really hate rolling out cookies, so this recipe was for ME! The delicious taste of sugar cookies without the rolling. :) I made them smaller than usual size, and used red and white frosting. They turned out very nice looking and I think they'll make a nice (tasty!) addition to my holiday cookie trays without the fuss of rolling and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I was a little disappointed in this recipe, only b/c I am on a mission to find a sugar cookie recipe similar to the ones you can find at the store with the colored icing on top. However, if you like a shortbread/sugar cookie...this is the recipe for you!...It was nice a crisp, just like the shortbread cookies you can buy!...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twarren19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
They are good! I just didn't find any crispness to them - I want to play around with this recipe to see if the size of the cookie had anything to do with the heftiness! These babies were thicker and heavier than I thought they'd be, even with proper creaming, etc. I did use my larger cookie scoop. --Regardless, they are good and a hit with everyone I've shared with. Plain, or even more fantastic with yummy chocolate frosting... Mine looked exactly like the one photo that currently exist for this recipe, just thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Wow, I couldn’t believe it when I found this recipe. It is almost the exact recipe my mom has made ever since I can remember (her recipe adds 1 tsp more salt). She told me her best friend gave her the recipe 45 years ago. Her recipe even has the same name, Tender Crisp Sugar Cookies. Depending upon how you bake these they turn out differently. I have rolled them out thick with a short cooking time and they turn out very soft and stay soft and are great with icing. I have just used them as a drop cookie, or my mom likes to roll them out thin to make them crispy and then frost or sugar them. My husband likes them when I roll them into balls then press them slightly with a glass and when they are fresh out of the oven I sprinkle them with sugar. I like them with chocolate icing. My crazy son likes them best when I make them with less flour (he calls them sugar cookies made wrong because I accidently left out TWO cups of flour once) they really spread when baking, but turned out chewy and good. This is an all time favorite that can be eaten plain, sugared or iced, dropped, rolled out or rolled into a ball. Love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These cookies were very good for cutting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States