Tender Breaded Turkey Cutlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
If you are having trouble getting the breading to stick, add a couple of teaspoons or more of regular mayo to the sour cream. Let the breaded cutlets sit in the fridge for at least a half hour before cooking and make sure the oil is hot(not smoking)before adding the cutlets. Do not crowd them in the pan. Crowding them causes steam and that will cause the breading to fall off. After you have put them in the fry pan and a nicely browned crust has formed, reduce the heat so they will cook through without burning the crust.Or then move them to the oven uncovered to finish cooking through. --Elizabeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I have never tried baking these but I never feel guilty about pan frying them since they are pan fried in just one tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil. The last time I made them (two days ago) I measured the oil to make sure that I was just using one Tbsp. and they came out perfectly, as usual. I also tried adding the dijon mustard to the sour cream. Excellent recommendation! I liked the different flavor it added. I have made these cutlets several times since posting the recipe and I always have spectacular results, the breading doesn't ever stick or fall off of mine. Everyone has different cooking techniques, and my approach has never failed me. My family likes these a lot, but I don't think I've ever said they are "to die for." lol Not many foods get that comment from me---and it would definitely be for something more sinful than Turkey. :o) Different strokes for different folks, but if you like turkey cutlets, I'd bet you'll like these ones. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This was a great way to use left over turkey. I had very little sour cream, so I also added equal parts of mayo and dijon mustard - it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Let me start off by saying that I used two turkey breasts - I did not pound them - just left them "full size" This was really good! I was very leary to use sour cream - but I followed others advice and stirred in Grey Poupon mustard with some 'herbs de provence' seasoning and - wow!!! Instead of using regular bread crumbs - I used Panko crumbs and it was really crunchy on the outside and tender on the inside!!! I did fry them in a pan to get them golden brown, then transferred to the oven until they were done. That seemed to keep the breading on nicely - make sure you put a little cooking spray in teh pan before you put in the turkey so they just slide right out! Very easy and VERY good!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEGOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Kudos to the reviewer who suggested the dijon mustard. I added it to the sour cream (about 2 tsp. and it gave it a real zing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I really liked this. I do usually pick the low fat alternative, but in this case I only had regular sour cream. I also used Kellogg's Corn Flakes crumbs instead of seasoned bread crumbs. I think those two are the secret. The flakes stayed on because the regular sour cream was thicker, and the corn flakes were crispier. I pounded the cutlets to about half their original thickness and added Grey Poupon to the sour cream for a little added zing. I only needed the 1 T of olive oil, and these truly were a treat. What was left over from the night before made fantastic sandwiches the next day. Very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
A very different way to prepare the turkey cutlets. Although my breading fell off with the first three cutlets the fourth one came out very nice and crunchy and I think it's because it didn't fit in the pan the fourth cutlet sat for a few minutes before cooking so I think that next time I'll let the breaded cutlets sit for a few minutes before cooking them. I added the dijon mustard to the sour cream and it was good. The turkey cutlets that I used were kind of thick not too much but not as thin as the recipe calls for and I cooked them a little bit longer and they were very moist and I salvaged most of the breading and even then the tukey cutlets were good. I gave 4 stars because of the breading falling off but I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilyana Duran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Excellent flavor and very easy. I used reduced fat sour cream mixed with 1 tsp of herbed dijon mustard. Also, I did not have seasoned breadcrumbs so I mixed in 1 tbsp of italian seasoning with plain breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Thanks to some other reviewers, these were a real success. I mixed up sour cream, a little mayo and a little dijon and spread it on both sides of the cutlets... let them sit in the fridge before breading them. I also let them sit on a rack for about 15 mins after dredging. It's true that getting the oil nice and hot before dropping them is the key to getting the breading to stick. I used panko instead of Italian breadcrumbs and to the panko and cheese I added garlic powder, onion powder, sage, thyme, salt and pepper. The flavor was outstanding and they were sooo good with mashed pototoes, gravy, stuffing and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This recipe was so fast and easy. The cutlets were so moist and tasty. I look forward to trying it with chicken too. The sour cream made a difference and was so much easier to work with than eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States