Tender Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was very easy to make and very tasty. My brisket was only 2 1/4 lbs, but I kept the sauce measurements the same. I put it in the slow cooker on low when I left for work and turned it to warm when I returned, aprox 9 hrs later. I had an emergency come up and had to leave, so we didn't get to the brisket for another 4 hours or so. It was still delicious...falling apart, but delicious! Needless to say, I didn't reduce the sauce, just poured it over the meat. I will try this again and hopefully we get to it on time! 4 stars.***UPDATE***Have made this again (several times) following the recipe as written. Just one word.....FABULOUS!! Very tender and the sauce just makes the recipe! The reduced sauce is wonderful drizzled over mashed potatoes as well as the meat. This is the only way to prepare a brisket as far as I am concearned. 5 stars all the way baby! YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
really good...and i'm pretty picky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I tried this recipe because it's very similar to my mother's brisket recipe (minus the horseradish and slow cooking method). At first, the brisket smelled heavily of horseradish, but when done, tasted wonderful and was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Wonderful recipe! Was desperate for a recipe for 'beef brisket' (hubby accidentally purchased a brisket instead of a 'corned beef brisket'). We LOVED the meat's tenderness and flavor but the sauce was to die for. I threw in a little flour after removing the meat rather than reducing the sauce in order to retain more and then threw in more horseradish for some zip - absolutely perfect! Thanks for the recipe Sondra!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
no changes to recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I have made beef briskets for years. This was the best yet. Thank you for making Chistmas Eve a huge success. All of my guests were raving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I make this recipe once a week and almost as is. I use hot horseradish and double the amount. It's really yummy with garlic breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I made this with a chuck roast instead of brisket....I combined the bbq brisket recipe with it...slow cooked almost the entire day...pulled apart and had on crusty rolls.... It was yummy...will definatly try again with brisket if I can find it in my small town...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Wonderful recipe!! I cooked it in a 5qt slow cooker and cooked it on high for 1 hour and then on low for 4 hours and it came out tender and juicy!! When I cooked the juices in the saucepan I added a teaspoon of cold water mixed with a teaspoon of cornstarch to thicken the juices more...there was no need to add milk since it did not thicken it that much. My exchange student from Germany LOVED it as well as the rest of my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sherrill, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Perfect brisket recipe. The sauce is wonderful over mashed potatoes. Definately double the sauce recipe for this purpose! Brisket cooked for 10 hours was my only change to the recipe. I checked mine at 6 hours and it was not even close to tender. It turned out amazing though, thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States