Ten Minute Szechuan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by inskydiamonds
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
For not salting this dish at all and using low-sodium soy sauce, I still found it too salty. It definitely needed something to offset the salty of the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
As suggested, I doubled the sauce. I didn't have green onions, so I used a little bit of sweet onion. Also, I used rice vinegar. Because I am slow at food prep, this took the full 40 minute cooking time for the rice. This is delicious. It is not terribly hot, so never fear about adding the recommended cayenne. I served it with brown rice that had been flavored with soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Good base recipe. Added veggies (red pepper, borccoli, mushrooms) and some sriracha sauce for heat. I used one fresh cayenne pepper which must not have been as spicy as I expected. Doubled the liquid ingredients since I added veggies. Pretty quick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Really good! We enjoyed this recipe, even though I omitted the cayenne just because I was serving it to my toddlers- and I didn't have green onions- but this is something I'd make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is wonderful. It really is a 10 minute dish too. The recipe sayes it serves 4 but my husband and I ate it all! Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Okay, I had to time myself to see if this really took ten minutes. I didn't have any of the ingredients out yet or prepped. I started mincing the garlic and chopping the green onion and the garlic alone took me five minutes to mince 4 cloves. I also had to add on extra minutes because I like chicken well cooked and I do tend to clean as I go. I did use sharp scissors to cut everything I could and that did save some time. Next time I want to try minced garlic in a jar. The whole meal took 32 minutes, which is still pretty darn quick for a decent hot meal. Plus, it was done when my rice I had going in the rice cooker was finished. I have never eaten Szechuan chicken, so I have nothing to compare this to, but this tasted pretty good. I will probably make this again, but it seems like it is missing something. I will have to figure out what that is?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Easy and delicious! I make this once a week, following the directions exactly. I just don't feel this recipe needs tweaked, which is something I usually do. I like to serve this with wild rice, sauteed veggies and extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms. hill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was very easy and very tasty. It is definitely a do-over. I added some sliced squash and onions that I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Quick, easy and tasty. I did cut the soy back to 3T and I was out of white wine vinegar so I sub. rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly as written and wouldn't recommend changing it at all. This is a definite keeper! Great flavor and easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States