Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
5 stars as it stands AND with changes. I'm originally from South Texas and was looking for a sauce that does my hometown proud, and this is it. Great red sauce recipe for Mexican dishes. Versatile too. I followed the recipe exactly, tasted it and then kicked it up a bit. To make as-is results in a mild flavor/sauce. I doubled all of the seasoning and added a pinch of red pepper flakes to heat it up a bit. Super easy and quick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as written, except I added about 1 tsp oregano. It was delicious. I don't have ready access to enchilada sauce. This will be my go to from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I needed a quick enchilada sauce for a casserole and this fit the bill. It was really good for such a quick sauce and i'm sure I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Quick and easy! Will never buy canned sauce again. One tablespoon of chili powder was plenty for a mild sauce. Don't worry that the oil, chili powder and flour rue seems thin -- it thickens up just fine. I added more salt and cumin to taste and a dash of unsweetened cocoa powder to bring out the spices. Made these easy cheese enchiladas: warm 8 corn tortillas in microwave. Dip each tortilla fully in sauce, then fill with shredded sharp cheddar and a few canned chopped green chilis. Roll and arrange seam side down in baking dish. Top with more sauce, cheese and chopped green onions. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes until bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Nice flavor - Browning the flour in the first step is the secret here, reminds me of a gumbo base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
FORGET THE TOMATO SAUCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry Spomer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
WAY too much chili powder. I put half of it in (thank goodness) & it was o.k. That would be 1/8 c. Added a few dark chocolate chips & was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
good. cut back on oil slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
The recipe is bland an oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Took others suggestions & used fresh garlic. I also put less chili powder in but added a little cayenne pepper for the kick as was suggested. This has more kick to it then the other one I make from this website. I'll probably interchange them when needing enchilada sauce for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 810) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States