Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
It just tastes like salty canned tomato with way too much chili powder. Even canned store bought sauce tastes better than this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Could not believe the difference this made!! Sooooo much better and Soooooo easy! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Made this recipe today with some adjustments. I don't have New Mexico chili powder so I used my basic chili powder. Then at the end I tasted it but felt it needed something. So I liquified a fresh tomato then added it to the sauce. That made it tasty. I love the freshness it brought. Don't think I will buy enchilada sauce ever again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Garza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I rarely review something here, but wished to do it on this recipe. I read many reviews before making it. Here's what I did: 1) I used 2 T Mexican chili powder (from Santa Fe School of Cooking) -- not enough!! Next time I will add at least another 1 T more and perhaps a pinch of cayenne. This comes from someone who doesn't like a lot of heat. 2) I only used low-med heat for the oil, chili powder and flour. There's low risk to burn this at this heat level. 3) I doubled the recipe, but next time I would TRIPLE it. I had standard-sized tortillas and doubling the recipe wasn't enough. When doubling the recipe I did NOT add in water or broth, so it was nice & thick. I also used minced garlic and to use up some shallots, I sauteed 5 chopped-up shallots. I used an enchilada recipe from W-S. Hope some find this helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
Made as instructed. New Favorite! Easy too! I will NEVER use canned stuff again! Single recipe makes just enough for a 9x13 casserole. Bottom & in btwn "2 layers". Seek out the CA or NM chili powder. Usually found in a small package in "Mexican" section of grocery store. Totally worth the extra time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cgenteman
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I used regular flour and Penzey's regular chili powder instead of New Mexico or CA. It was excellent. I will do it exactly the same way next time because I can't imagine it being any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Tastes brilliant. Thank you Allrecipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
5 stars as it stands AND with changes. I'm originally from South Texas and was looking for a sauce that does my hometown proud, and this is it. Great red sauce recipe for Mexican dishes. Versatile too. I followed the recipe exactly, tasted it and then kicked it up a bit. To make as-is results in a mild flavor/sauce. I doubled all of the seasoning and added a pinch of red pepper flakes to heat it up a bit. Super easy and quick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I made this recipe exactly as written, except I added about 1 tsp oregano. It was delicious. I don't have ready access to enchilada sauce. This will be my go to from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I needed a quick enchilada sauce for a casserole and this fit the bill. It was really good for such a quick sauce and i'm sure I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States