Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
my family loved this! I had to make some changes though. I didn't have tomato sauce, so I blended up a 14 ounce can of tomatoes and juice and used all of it. It sounded like a whole lot of chile pwdr., and I had no idea what the diffference between New Mexico or Calif chile pwdr., but used what I had and it was great. I started out using half the amount of chile pwdr. called for just in case and found I needed the entire amount called for. When it was done, the sauce was a little bland for my taste, so I upped the amount of garlic, onion, cumin to 3/4 tsp. It was then great! To this sauce, I added boiled, shredded chicken, (3 boneless skinless chicken breasts) and 2 cans (4 ounce) green chiles. WOW!!!! Now we have a very versatile dish! Use for tacos, enchiladas, salad, nachos-you can't go wrong and I think the end product was a 5 star! Use your discretion at upping the amount of spice according to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
556 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
NICE!!!! To make it a lighter I omited the oil and browned the flour & chili powder in a dry pan. Adding a little more water to get that perfect consistancy. This one is well worth trying.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
Wonderful flavor. Easy to make. Truly authentic taste. I have been looking for a receipe with this flavoring and glad I finally found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Loved this recipe. Very easy and tasty. Used the sauce on black bean enchiladas and both were a hit. I didn't have self rising flour so I used all purpose, and it worked fine. I also doubled the recipe to make sure I had enough. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This sauce was excellent. My 4 and 7 year old kids loved it as well as my husband. Will never buy sauce "mix" or cans again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLCOUG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
It was ok, but I could taste the oil as an aftertaste. Spices were good though. If I make again I will do as another suggested and brown the flour and chili powder dry or atleast cut the amount in oil in half. It would be healthier as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I liked the ease of this recipe but I found myself adjusting the spices to my liking. I've made this many times, each time mixing it up a little until I found the perfect combo. I've found that cutting the chili powder in half, then adding garlic salt and table salt to taste give it a nice, authentic flavor without being too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This rocked, I loved the taste of the sauce, but my wife told me it might be a bit too bold for our 4 yo daughter, so I added a 28 oz can of tomato sauce, instead of just 8 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Quick, easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLLYROGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Delicious! I used part hot and part mild New Mexican chili powder and it was great. Much better than enchilada sauce from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 796) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States