Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Quick and Easy - and GOOD - just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I figured there had to be an easy homemade enchilada sauce here... this is it. It turned out GREAT! I usually make it as written the first time, but I wasn't paying attention until too late and realized I put in tomato sauce. Luckily I was able to cut back on water, and the sauce was pretty forgiving, thank goodness. Very good flavor, especially for only taking 10 minutes - a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very, very salty, but easy to make! Cut the chili powder in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Didn't care for this recipe lacked depth of flavor (like a rich enchilada sauce tastes.) Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it came out great! It was quick and easy and I already had all the ingredients on hand. I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhatnaa1
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I live in the Middle East where Mexican ingredients are hard to come by. I think this would come out better if I had higher quality Mexican chili powder. Regardless, I didn't care for the texture and it was lacking the tangy taste of a good homemade sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight because I only had one small can of sauce and I had 5 grandchildren visiting and my husband's brother. My husband found this recipe. I have never tried to make enchilada sauce but thought sure I will give it a try. When I read the recipe I thought 1/4 cup of chili powder sounded like a lot of chili - my husband told me that many of those that rated it mentioned that they cut the chili amount in half - so that is what I did. I didn't have the self rising flour either and never use it - I used regular flour and it worked just fine. I don't know if my chili powder was Calif. or Mexico but it tasted just fine too. I had cooked a beef roast in a slow cooker and that is the meat I used for the enchiladas. I used the meat juice in place of the 1 1/2 cups of water. Often I cook chicken or pork this way for enchiladas too; I have decided I will use this recipe again and keep using the juice of whatever meat I cook instead of the water. Next time however, I will use fresh garlic instead of the powder. I love fresh garlic but I had 5 hungry children and I had started dinner later than I had expected - so to save time I used powdered garlic. The kids "loved" the enchiladas, I was getting a bit worried I was not going to get any. My brother in law loved the sauce too as did my husband. So it looks like I won't be buying canned sauce anymore. Oh, I used pureed tomato sauce instead of regular tomato sauce because that is all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I had all of the ingredients in my pantry and it was so easy. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I made this before and it's delicious, I'm making it again tonight for my beef and tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States