Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Didn't care for this recipe lacked depth of flavor (like a rich enchilada sauce tastes.) Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it came out great! It was quick and easy and I already had all the ingredients on hand. I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhatnaa1
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I live in the Middle East where Mexican ingredients are hard to come by. I think this would come out better if I had higher quality Mexican chili powder. Regardless, I didn't care for the texture and it was lacking the tangy taste of a good homemade sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight because I only had one small can of sauce and I had 5 grandchildren visiting and my husband's brother. My husband found this recipe. I have never tried to make enchilada sauce but thought sure I will give it a try. When I read the recipe I thought 1/4 cup of chili powder sounded like a lot of chili - my husband told me that many of those that rated it mentioned that they cut the chili amount in half - so that is what I did. I didn't have the self rising flour either and never use it - I used regular flour and it worked just fine. I don't know if my chili powder was Calif. or Mexico but it tasted just fine too. I had cooked a beef roast in a slow cooker and that is the meat I used for the enchiladas. I used the meat juice in place of the 1 1/2 cups of water. Often I cook chicken or pork this way for enchiladas too; I have decided I will use this recipe again and keep using the juice of whatever meat I cook instead of the water. Next time however, I will use fresh garlic instead of the powder. I love fresh garlic but I had 5 hungry children and I had started dinner later than I had expected - so to save time I used powdered garlic. The kids "loved" the enchiladas, I was getting a bit worried I was not going to get any. My brother in law loved the sauce too as did my husband. So it looks like I won't be buying canned sauce anymore. Oh, I used pureed tomato sauce instead of regular tomato sauce because that is all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I had all of the ingredients in my pantry and it was so easy. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I made this before and it's delicious, I'm making it again tonight for my beef and tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
My family loved this!!! Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Super easy recipe! I used regular all-purpose flour (because that's what I had at home), and the husband and thought it was great. I never have to buy enchilada sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
We love this recipe! I use the New Mexico red chili powder-full amount! This is the sauce for my buffalo enchiladas! 5 stars! Very similar taste to the New Mexico traditional red chili sauce. Muy bueno! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States