Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I wanted to make Chicken Enchiladas for supper, but I forgot to buy salsa (even though it was on the list) so I figured we could use an Enchilada Sauce in place of it, for that tomatoe-y element. I made this sauce, doubling it for a 9"x13" pan and cutting back on the chilli powder. It was pretty good, if not a tad bit spicy. I added a couple TB of Taco seasoning and a couple packets of chicken stock. I've never had Echilada sauce before, so I don't know what it's supposed to taste like or the consistency of it, but this sauce was pretty darn good on our Enchiladas. I used the Chicken Enchiladas V recipe from this site, and added about 3/4 cup of this sauce to the soup/sour cream mixture - YUMMY! I still had quite a bit of sauce leftover - if I put it in a jar, how long would it keep for in the fridge? Thanks for posting a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie C. Harding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
We loved this sauce, the only changes I made were using flour, baking powder, and salt instead of the self-rising flour and cooking it in the microwave. Is true authentic sauce better? Obviously, but this is a perfect quick edition of a classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kolbi Doyle Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Tried doubling the spices. Was hesitant about all the oil and now having regrets from a health perspective. Used onion powder instead of onion salt as already salty enough and that worked fine. A nice entry recipe for making your own sauce, but am now looking for a less greasy, more advanced recipe. Won't be remaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
1 recipe was enough for one pan of enchiladas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Thank you! Loved this and will not be buying the prepackaged stuff anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is the most disgusting recipe I have ever tried.I would throw it in the trash rather than give it to a starving man that is how horrible it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel Chapman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Could not imagine hot spicy this recipe is if I made it as written . Followed the advise of a few reviewers and only added 3 tablespoons of chile powder . Tasted good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I forgot to buy enchilada sauce so I looked up all recipes wow! Great ten minute recipe and I took some advice from reviews. I used only 3 tablespoons of Chile powder and only 1 cup of water. Turned out perfectly and just hot enough. Saved a lot of money not buying canned sauce will always make it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasantville, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Easy to find ingredients and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Really good and easy to make. I used canned tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and so I had to thicken it a little more. Lots of spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 810) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States