Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This sauce was very easy to make and it tasted great; I would only recommend a little less chili powder otherwise it could be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My family loves Mexican food so much, we have it 1 -2 times per week. . We are trying to get away from processed foods, so we were happy to find this recipe. Even though it says to cook for 10 minutes, we let it simmer until dinner was ready. The sauce thinkened quite nicely, and developed a dark, rich, red color, perhaps due to the chile powder used. It was so pretty I wish I'd taken a picture. We had the last of the sauce tonight with buffalo enchiladas - we will be making more sauce! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz147

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I combined this recipe feedback and mrs.espy's enchilada sauce recipe. Reduced oil to 2 tbsp. upped water to 2 cups. Doubled cumin,garlic salt and onion powder. This tasted just the same as store bought enchilada sauce and or the Lawry's enchilada seasoning packet so it was as expected. Will definitely not buy enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Divas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I have to give this 4 stars because I had to change things up. As a basic starter it is 5 stars though. I used my own canned tomato sauce, however I used less chili powder and more onion salt. I also used a lot more garlic powder. It was fantastic. This is going to be my new enchilada sauce for good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Excellent and add me to the list of those who will never buy canned again. Used Los Chileros de nueva mexico chili chipotle powder and results were a full bodied, spicy hot, gourmet-tasting sauce. I didn't change the recipe except to double it and use regular flour. It's a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Great! Better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
easy to make for mexican sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is so easy! I will never purchase pre-made enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Super easy and pretty dang good. You'll probably have to tweak the seasonings quite a bit, but this is a really good basic recipe. I like to saute some finely diced white onion and a jalapeno or two in the oil before adding the flour and chili powder. A little bit of fresh oregano is nice too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Excellent! I'll never buy sauce in a can again! I used all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 772) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States