Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I love this recipe! I skip the water completely - makes it much better, imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
was really good ... somewhat a "busy" recipe" but turned out good ...... have no no idea who took the pic of the sauce.. but turns out much darker but flavor is great .. I did use "cheap" regular chili powder but had plenty of ZAP ....as well as AP flour I like the fact you control the sodium and heat ...was really good 5 star on flavor 4 star on effort but will give it a 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Trio
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I think the reviews all depend on what part of the country you are in. North and Midwestern's may think it's too strong. Cali folks have their own style just as we have TexMex here in Texas. This sauce is fine as a quick sauce. I did change the order of adding ingredients. I bloomed ALL of the spices in the oil (I used sunflower oil because it is what I had), then added the flour(I did use white wheat flour). You have to be VERY careful not to burn the roux. It is harder to tell the color of the roux because of the spices. If you even get it a little too brown the sauce will taste BAD and it goes from perfect to BAD in a short time. The infusion of the spices into the oil is what brings out the depth of flavor (and of course the lightly browned flour). Skip this step and you will have flat sauce. Instead of the plain tomato sauce, you may want to try a fire roasted or Rotel canned tomato, throw it in the blender...blend into sauce consistency. I had to add about 1/2 tsp salt for my taste. After I tasted the recipe, I decided to add 3/4 tsp of sugar to it, too - personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Quick and Easy - and GOOD - just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I figured there had to be an easy homemade enchilada sauce here... this is it. It turned out GREAT! I usually make it as written the first time, but I wasn't paying attention until too late and realized I put in tomato sauce. Luckily I was able to cut back on water, and the sauce was pretty forgiving, thank goodness. Very good flavor, especially for only taking 10 minutes - a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very, very salty, but easy to make! Cut the chili powder in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Didn't care for this recipe lacked depth of flavor (like a rich enchilada sauce tastes.) Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it came out great! It was quick and easy and I already had all the ingredients on hand. I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhatnaa1
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I live in the Middle East where Mexican ingredients are hard to come by. I think this would come out better if I had higher quality Mexican chili powder. Regardless, I didn't care for the texture and it was lacking the tangy taste of a good homemade sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 808) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States