Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
My wife and I had always used a specific store-bought mix. There was only one mix we liked and the store ws out of it. I googled Enchilada Sauce and this was the first one to come up. WOW!!!! We will never go back to a store bought mix. I was concerned about the amount of chili powder being too hot for my wife. It's not! The spices blend wonderfully and the sauce is easy (fast) to prepare. The sauce doesn't taste great just out of the pan. Don't dip your finger in it and expect to have some mind boggling tastes. It's meh. But once it's paired with your favorite enchilada the flavor shines through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Best Enchilada Sauce recipe - EVER! It was pretty tasty to begin with, though I added some cayenne pepper and oregano. Next time I'll be adding some chocolate. Even without changes, you'll never taste sauce as good as this in ANY restaurant anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Delicious and easy!!! Love this... I use about half the chili powder but it's an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I always make a recipe the way it's called to be done. Then if I don't like it I will add. I had to make this because I had all ingredients for beef enchiladas, but no store bought sauce. The next time at the store I bought 3 cans. Had to keep adding the same ingredients to make it better. It was too dark and too thick. Also a little bitter and a hit to the back of the throat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I thought this tasted too much like seasoned tomato sauce. I prefer enchilada sauces made with broth and just a little tomato flavor. However, I think if you are using canned, this is tons better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This sauce was perfect. I did not have all of the ingredients so I had to improvise on a few but it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Could not believe the difference this made!! Sooooo much better and Soooooo easy! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Made this recipe today with some adjustments. I don't have New Mexico chili powder so I used my basic chili powder. Then at the end I tasted it but felt it needed something. So I liquified a fresh tomato then added it to the sauce. That made it tasty. I love the freshness it brought. Don't think I will buy enchilada sauce ever again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Garza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I rarely review something here, but wished to do it on this recipe. I read many reviews before making it. Here's what I did: 1) I used 2 T Mexican chili powder (from Santa Fe School of Cooking) -- not enough!! Next time I will add at least another 1 T more and perhaps a pinch of cayenne. This comes from someone who doesn't like a lot of heat. 2) I only used low-med heat for the oil, chili powder and flour. There's low risk to burn this at this heat level. 3) I doubled the recipe, but next time I would TRIPLE it. I had standard-sized tortillas and doubling the recipe wasn't enough. When doubling the recipe I did NOT add in water or broth, so it was nice & thick. I also used minced garlic and to use up some shallots, I sauteed 5 chopped-up shallots. I used an enchilada recipe from W-S. Hope some find this helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States