Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I am in the midst of preparing this enchilada sauce. The recipe is good. Reading the most helpful comments, it seems apparent to me that the ingredient "New Mexico or California chili powder" is ground chili pepper and not the commercially prepared spice mixtures sold as chili powder. I will rate this again after my grandsons have given it their taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Quick and easy! Will never buy canned sauce again. One tablespoon of chili powder was plenty for a mild sauce. Don't worry that the oil, chili powder and flour rue seems thin -- it thickens up just fine. I added more salt and cumin to taste and a dash of unsweetened cocoa powder to bring out the spices. Made these easy cheese enchiladas: warm 8 corn tortillas in microwave. Dip each tortilla fully in sauce, then fill with shredded sharp cheddar and a few canned chopped green chilis. Roll and arrange seam side down in baking dish. Top with more sauce, cheese and chopped green onions. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes until bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Nice flavor - Browning the flour in the first step is the secret here, reminds me of a gumbo base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
FORGET THE TOMATO SAUCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
WAY too much chili powder. I put half of it in (thank goodness) & it was o.k. That would be 1/8 c. Added a few dark chocolate chips & was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
good. cut back on oil slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
The recipe is bland an oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Took others suggestions & used fresh garlic. I also put less chili powder in but added a little cayenne pepper for the kick as was suggested. This has more kick to it then the other one I make from this website. I'll probably interchange them when needing enchilada sauce for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Good taste overall, a little bland. My real complaint is that I could taste and feel the grit of the flour in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Shulan
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I have made this several times and it turns out great. I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 808) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States