Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Good taste overall, a little bland. My real complaint is that I could taste and feel the grit of the flour in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Shulan
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maumelle, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I have made this several times and it turns out great. I will never buy canned enchilada sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
It uses so much chili powder but it is so good! An easy replacement for jarred/canned enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Have tried to find a good enchilada sauce for years. I made it exactly as written and it was great. May tweek it a bit in the future but I liked it very much as is. Thanks so much for this recipe, it's become my go to sauce for enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
The reason why flour is used is because its a thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanne Van Peursem Mae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Loved It. Prepared exactly as directed. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BG Smooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Unless I just totally messed up the recipe (which I don't think I did), I think this has turned out to be the worst thing I've made in my entire adult life and I'm 33. I just don't know how anyone could eat this. I followed the recipe only using chicken broth instead of water as someone recommended. It didn't taste like enchilada sauce. Honestly, I couldn't tell you what it tasted like. It was so bad, just the teeny tiniest taste I took to test it was enough for me and the whole batch went down the drain. My house still smells like it and it's just awful. I don't even know how I would recommend going about making it better. And oh my goodness, so much oil. I'll be trying a different recipe for sure that is more tomato sauce based and hopefully I'll have better luck. I'd definitely pass on this recipe if I were you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marisol Peralta
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Loved this quick easy recipe. Had all the ingredients to make it to. I added ghost pepper just for a little kick. Made this sauce for zucchini enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisol Peralta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This sauce is great. It is made with ingredients I always have on hand. It is way better than pre-made stuff at the store. I will never go back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Cowling Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oregon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Make the roux first! Don't add the chili until AFTER you add the broth or water. The only changes are that I use is regular flour, no tomato sauce, a dash of oregano and no salt instead I use either chicken, beef or vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Zampacorta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States