Ten Bean Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Ten kinds of Yummy!! Soak for a day, crock pot for a day, eat for two days!! So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tompkinsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Maysville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Easy tastier version of split pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I thought this was a great framework for the beans. I added a can of collard greens, a small can of diced tomatoes, and some leftover chicken shredded. This turned out to be a great dish for a snow day in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
good start! added more stuff for taste, but a great base. Kids even liked it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I made this recipe just like it said, but I felt it was a bit flavorless. So I added some chicken stock and a couple of chicken bouillon cubes, and it tasted really good. A great recipe to use for the Ten bean mix I bought for my food storage. My husband enjoyed it too. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My mother used to make this years ago and I acquired a taste for it. Easily bland for some people, though. However, I doubled everything except the beans and it turned out rather tasty. Our house loved it and ate every bit of it. Only thing though, some people may want to adjust how salty it is by adding their own salt later when it's served. Otherwise, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
It was flavorful. I added some more spices and used diced ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
It's a great base but you have to adjust to your personal liking, all it takes is a little creativity. I am vegetarian so no Bacon for me. I always add a can of crushed tomatoes to any soup I am making for the most part. In this one I added some Italian Seasoning, Turmeric, Crushed Red pepper and Coriander. Revise to get flavor you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great base recipe...I omit the bacon, instead add smoked turkey necks and holy trinity (bell pepper, onion, celery) and chopped garlic. Allow the beans to simmer for an hour. After an hour add creole seasoning to taste....like Tony's or any other seasoning you like. DONT ADD UNTIL AFTER AN HOUR!!! Simmer unitl the beans are tender. At the very end I add a little bit of sugar....VERY VERY TASTY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blazint2001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this as directed adding only some carrots and it was really bland. Not bad - but nothing to write home about. Using ham stock or chicken stock would have helped. We were able to doctor this up. It's a good starting point though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States