Tempting Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I would say to leave out the salt.. In my opinion, the salt addition doesn't go too well with the apple. The salad itself could use maybe a bit more fresh apple crisp.. I doubled the recipe, therefore using a whole apple instead of half.. but I'm thinking I would've liked a bit more apple to it.. maybe also adding some sweet vinaigrette on top of the salad would help with hiding the strong tuna flavor.. I usually love tuna.. maybe it was the brand.. who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Loved this recipe. Served it at book club and it was a hit! I doubled it....is delicious with white cheese crackers...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Tried this today and put pecans And used a couple secrets from my moms tuna salad! Was awesome! I take care of a 90 year old lady and she just raved about it! Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I've been making almost this exact tuna salad for decades, and it is wonderful. The difference from mine is that I add chopped onion and celery seed or chopped fresh celery and chopped dill pickles. The contrast between the pickle and apples is nice. I haven't tried it with the pecans, but I will, since I use pecans in my chicken salad. And, I do use fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocksprings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent! I substituted grapes for the apples and it was still good. Easy to make and worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Apple is a classic ingredient to tuna, though it's not "widespread knowledge." The taste is fantastic. I just added a table spoon of red onion... so good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Easy way to put a new twist in your old tuna salad recipe... I made it just as written. I did not have salad dressing so I used mayo with a bit of paprika sprinkled in it. I also added a couple of diced grapes. Will defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
My husband said "very good" and I'm not a big tuna fan bought thought it was really good. Loved the apples and pecans....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I dice up the apple and egg really small, I guess you'd call it "minced." Because adding the egg might be a little drying, I think the apple moistens it up. Great way to stretch expensive canned tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hickmanl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Amazing!!! Like others, I used it as a jumping off point--used two cans albacore, a mix of toasted walnuts and sunflower seeds (it's what I had), and guessed on the mayo. SO GOOD!!!!! And yep, the apples stay crunchy the next day! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States