Tempting Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I would say to leave out the salt.. In my opinion, the salt addition doesn't go too well with the apple. The salad itself could use maybe a bit more fresh apple crisp.. I doubled the recipe, therefore using a whole apple instead of half.. but I'm thinking I would've liked a bit more apple to it.. maybe also adding some sweet vinaigrette on top of the salad would help with hiding the strong tuna flavor.. I usually love tuna.. maybe it was the brand.. who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Loved this recipe. Served it at book club and it was a hit! I doubled it....is delicious with white cheese crackers...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Tried this today and put pecans And used a couple secrets from my moms tuna salad! Was awesome! I take care of a 90 year old lady and she just raved about it! Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I've been making almost this exact tuna salad for decades, and it is wonderful. The difference from mine is that I add chopped onion and celery seed or chopped fresh celery and chopped dill pickles. The contrast between the pickle and apples is nice. I haven't tried it with the pecans, but I will, since I use pecans in my chicken salad. And, I do use fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocksprings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent! I substituted grapes for the apples and it was still good. Easy to make and worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Apple is a classic ingredient to tuna, though it's not "widespread knowledge." The taste is fantastic. I just added a table spoon of red onion... so good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Easy way to put a new twist in your old tuna salad recipe... I made it just as written. I did not have salad dressing so I used mayo with a bit of paprika sprinkled in it. I also added a couple of diced grapes. Will defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
My husband said "very good" and I'm not a big tuna fan bought thought it was really good. Loved the apples and pecans....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I dice up the apple and egg really small, I guess you'd call it "minced." Because adding the egg might be a little drying, I think the apple moistens it up. Great way to stretch expensive canned tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hickmanl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Amazing!!! Like others, I used it as a jumping off point--used two cans albacore, a mix of toasted walnuts and sunflower seeds (it's what I had), and guessed on the mayo. SO GOOD!!!!! And yep, the apples stay crunchy the next day! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States