Tempeh Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Great idea! Tastes just like a reuben, and it's quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Really good! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I work in a Vegetarian Kitchen. After 5 years of eating the same food day after day, this is the one sandwich that still sends me into culinary heaven every time I bite into it. We use earth balance and marble rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
What an awesome, inexpensive, easy-to-make, and delicious vegetarian dish. I will ALWAYS make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! There are very few things I miss from the land of meat-eating, but reubens are one of them. I rushed home to make this after I found this recipe and was not disappointed. If anything, I found these sandwiches even tastier than the orignal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I LOVE reubens, but this recipe left me unfulfilled. Try this next time -- it was a hit with my family: In large fry pan add 1 cup vegetable broth, 1 Tbsp. minced garlic, 1 tsp. liquid smoke and 1 cup water. Bring to a low boil. Then, cut tempeh at a diagonal for wider slices and simmer them in broth for 20 minutes, turning occasionally as liquid reduces. Remove from heat and place on a slice of lightly toasted rye, top with sauerkraut and swiss, put under a broiler for a minute so that the cheese melts, add your top slice of rye and serve with thousand island dressing. Even my finicky 8 year old loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Really good. I cut the tempeh in half and sauteed it a bit before putting it on the sandwich. I also don't like my saurkraut very wet so I sauteed it too so it was less runny. It was very, very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I made this for lunch today. It was very good. I'd recommend slicing the tempeh into then filets just like the roast beef in a normal reuben. I sliced mine into wide, then filets then fried it for a bit with salt and pepper. Put the thousand island and tempeh down with cheese on top, sauerkraut on the other bread then broiled in the top rack of the oven for a minute or two. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This tastes so close to the real thing, you'll never know the difference. I would recommend sprinkling the tempeh with a little salt and cracked pepper and frying in olive oil before adding to the sandwich...makes the texture better. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States