Tempeh Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I LOVE reubens, but this recipe left me unfulfilled. Try this next time -- it was a hit with my family: In large fry pan add 1 cup vegetable broth, 1 Tbsp. minced garlic, 1 tsp. liquid smoke and 1 cup water. Bring to a low boil. Then, cut tempeh at a diagonal for wider slices and simmer them in broth for 20 minutes, turning occasionally as liquid reduces. Remove from heat and place on a slice of lightly toasted rye, top with sauerkraut and swiss, put under a broiler for a minute so that the cheese melts, add your top slice of rye and serve with thousand island dressing. Even my finicky 8 year old loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I work in a Vegetarian Kitchen. After 5 years of eating the same food day after day, this is the one sandwich that still sends me into culinary heaven every time I bite into it. We use earth balance and marble rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! There are very few things I miss from the land of meat-eating, but reubens are one of them. I rushed home to make this after I found this recipe and was not disappointed. If anything, I found these sandwiches even tastier than the orignal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is a dangerous recipe for me - delicious - I have missed reubens! Here is my version: Pumpernickel bread (Beefsteak brand) 2 pkgs tempeh makes 8 sandwiches. Slice each tempeh in half to make two squares. Slice those squares in half lengthwise (so that they are twice as thin - really, it works!) Sprinkle the slices with soy sauce before browning them in a little oil in a saute pan. Remove. Brush one side of bread with butter, place butter-side down on griddle, layer one slice tempeh, cheese, 'kraut, top bread layer. Flip them carefully! When cheese melts and bread is crisp, open and spread the inside of each piece of bread (not just one side!) with sauce. Slather. Cut in half, serve. (My children only ate a half sandwich each, so you could say this makes 16 servings but the leftovers are so good - also, it uses up the whole loaf of pumpernickel and less kraut to throw away afterwards so I say make a big batch). The sauce I used was a sort of thousand island minus the relish: 1 c. mayonnaise 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce 1/4 c. catsup 1 tsp. grated onion You can also dip into the sauce instead of slathering the bread. I love the slather...messy though. My version has butter and worcestershire as well as real swiss, so it's not technically vegetarian. I think this recipe would get lots more attention if we had a better picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justine
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
These were great! I give it a 4 only because I marinated the temphe in a little bit of soy sauce to give it a salty "corn beef" flavor. Otherwise a great substitute for a meaty sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This tastes so close to the real thing, you'll never know the difference. I would recommend sprinkling the tempeh with a little salt and cracked pepper and frying in olive oil before adding to the sandwich...makes the texture better. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
After missing Reubens for 12 years, I was pretty darn excited to find this recipe! I'm embarrassed as a vegetarian to say I had never heard of tempeh, but I am so glad I tried it!!!! My meat loving sister asked if it tasted like corned beef, and I had to say no, but with marinating the tempeh in soy sauce as per reviews, it captured the saltiness of corned beef, and along with the very distinct, strong reuben flavors of the saurkraut, swiss cheese, rye bread, and 1000 isle dressing, I didn't miss the meat at all! I am going to make for my meat loving husband to see what he thinks next! THANK YOU MEL FOR SUBMITTING THIS GEM!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetshand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Really good! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Really good. I cut the tempeh in half and sauteed it a bit before putting it on the sandwich. I also don't like my saurkraut very wet so I sauteed it too so it was less runny. It was very, very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lobsteriffic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was pretty good! I've been a vegetarian for 9.5 years now and I was having a huge craving for a reuben...this hit the spot, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pastrami-Spiced Duck Breast Reuben

Duck breasts get the pastrami-spice treatment in this main-dish "reuben."

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States