Tempeh Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I only gave three stars because I really didn't like the tempeh put in without additional cooking. Instead, I steamed it and then marinated it in a broth/oil/soy sauce combo so that it was had abetter flavor and was more digestable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Really good. I cut the tempeh in half and sauteed it a bit before putting it on the sandwich. I also don't like my saurkraut very wet so I sauteed it too so it was less runny. It was very, very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I LOVE reubens, but this recipe left me unfulfilled. Try this next time -- it was a hit with my family: In large fry pan add 1 cup vegetable broth, 1 Tbsp. minced garlic, 1 tsp. liquid smoke and 1 cup water. Bring to a low boil. Then, cut tempeh at a diagonal for wider slices and simmer them in broth for 20 minutes, turning occasionally as liquid reduces. Remove from heat and place on a slice of lightly toasted rye, top with sauerkraut and swiss, put under a broiler for a minute so that the cheese melts, add your top slice of rye and serve with thousand island dressing. Even my finicky 8 year old loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
use the recipe for seasoned tempeh with this sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! There are very few things I miss from the land of meat-eating, but reubens are one of them. I rushed home to make this after I found this recipe and was not disappointed. If anything, I found these sandwiches even tastier than the orignal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lobsteriffic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was pretty good! I've been a vegetarian for 9.5 years now and I was having a huge craving for a reuben...this hit the spot, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
What an awesome, inexpensive, easy-to-make, and delicious vegetarian dish. I will ALWAYS make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Great- except don't use the Multigrain Tofu, just use the plain. The other is too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I'm not too sure what a real rueben tastes like, but I only thought this was ok....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARYDIAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I work in a Vegetarian Kitchen. After 5 years of eating the same food day after day, this is the one sandwich that still sends me into culinary heaven every time I bite into it. We use earth balance and marble rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States