Tempeh Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Yummy! This is also excellent on the George Foreman grill, using Annie's brand Goddess Dressing instead of the thousand island stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
It was good but it would be better with a seasoned tempeh. Also I'll definitely slice the tempeh in half so it's not so thick, it was overpowering. Other than that it was very tasty and similar to the real thing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justine
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
These were great! I give it a 4 only because I marinated the temphe in a little bit of soy sauce to give it a salty "corn beef" flavor. Otherwise a great substitute for a meaty sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This tastes so close to the real thing, you'll never know the difference. I would recommend sprinkling the tempeh with a little salt and cracked pepper and frying in olive oil before adding to the sandwich...makes the texture better. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I made this for lunch today. It was very good. I'd recommend slicing the tempeh into then filets just like the roast beef in a normal reuben. I sliced mine into wide, then filets then fried it for a bit with salt and pepper. Put the thousand island and tempeh down with cheese on top, sauerkraut on the other bread then broiled in the top rack of the oven for a minute or two. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Just finished eating it and it is delicious! The thousand island dressing really brought out the great taste. Had it with tossed salad and a kiwi :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
great recipe- I am definitely for sauteing the tempeh and sauerkraut prior to placing on the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Tempeh Reubens... mmmMMMmmm. I used to love Reubens before I went vegetarian, and now I love them again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Reuben sandwiches are one of the very few meat dishes that I miss as a vegetarian. At resturants, I order Reubens without meat, and that pretty much satisfies my craving. I didn't love this recipe because the tempeh was a weird addition, I cooked and seasoned it first, but the smell of it in the sandwich clashed with the saurkraut smell. It was okay... marinaded tofu might be better than tempeh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States