Tempeh Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Such a satisfying sandwich! And a great way to use tempeh. I took the advice of other reviewers and briefly marinated the tempeh in soy sauce (for as long as it took me to prepare the rest of the sandwich), then fried it in olive oil before I added it to the sandwich and fried that. Will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I made this for dinner and really enjoyed it. Had to sub gruyere for the swiss, but tasty tasty tasty. I did end up microwaving it for 30 seconds, the tempeh was only lukewarm, but the cheese was melty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was ok, not as good as I expected though. Maybe I got the wrong type of tempeh, since it was the tempeh that really didn't mesh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Never thought about trying to adapt a meatless reuben, so glad I came across this recipe! I made mine vegan by using Kraft 1000 Island (no egg yolks like most other brands), substituting Earth Balance for butter, and leaving off the swiss cheese. I mix the kraut in the dressing and put a generous amount on the sandwich - as much as would stay on the bread. Very tasty!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGSUMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe was very good! I took the advice of another reviewer and sauteed the tempeh in vegetable broth, water, minced garlic and liquid smoke. Will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My husband, a meat-eater, and I, a vegetarian, both love this recipe. We use the three grain blend of tempeh, and we also marinate the tempeh in soy sauce for a 5-10 minutes and fry it in a pan to crisp it up and give it a salty taste. I would strongly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I have a piano-wire cheese slicer which I use to slice the tempeh lengthwise into thin "meat like" slices. I then rub with a Kentucky dry rub and let stand for an hour or two before skillet-frying in a little olive oil. I do everything else as the recipe states, but instead of a thousand island dressing, I chop Harvard beets into a little Hellmann's mayonnaise, and sometimes I just use KFC coleslaw. It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was very good, first time trying Tempeh and loved it. I marinated it for a bit with olive oil, ginger, and garlic then pan fried it for about 5 minutes in the marinade, otherwise followed the recipe. I will make this again...probably tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I'm curious if the tempeh is supposed to be cooked BEFORE you make it? This was my first time tasting/cooking tempeh and it was horrible. If you don't know if you like tempeh or not, I would say skip this recipe. I still gave it stars because it's obvious it's a good recipe for those who like tempeh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Good idea. I don't know if you can say it tastes "exactly like a reuben", but it's got great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States