Tempeh Reuben Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was my first tempeh experience. I was pleasantly surprised! I'm a new vegetarian and reubens are one thing I've really missed. I followed some other reviewers' suggestions and pan fried my sliced tempeh in olive oil and soy sause prior to putting it on the sandwich. I swear I wouldn't have known that difference between this and a regular reuben. I will make again. OFTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adabrowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These were just ok as the recipe was written. I had leftovers the next day and they were phenomenal! Next time I think I will marinate the tempeh in the sauerkraut juice before cooking. It definitely adds something to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was excellent! Based on other recipes, I decided to marinate the tempeh first- I used BBQ sauce and worcestershire sauces, since it's what I had. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These are really good. Took some advice and marinated the tempeh in some soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This one one of my meat eating boyfriends favorite recipes. I also cut the tempeh in half the long way to make it a little thinner and fried it in a little bit of olive oil first. Very tasty and so easy. This is definitely a keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
The Natural Foods store in my neighborhood sells "bacon"flavored tempeh - it's sooo good! If you can find that variety I recommend using that in place of plain tempeh. And try it in place of real bacon on BLT's. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I tried this recipe, and was dissapointed. The reviews were ranting and raving about the dish, so I figured it would be good. What I didn't realize though, was that most of the reviewers are vegetarians! I am about the farthest thing from vegeterian, but my mom wants us to eat healthier, so I tried this recipe. I don't know if I just don't like reuben sandwiches (I've never had one), or if I don't like soy--I'm inclined to think the latter, as I don't like other soy products. Maybe I'll try Kulio's recipe though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is a dangerous recipe for me - delicious - I have missed reubens! Here is my version: Pumpernickel bread (Beefsteak brand) 2 pkgs tempeh makes 8 sandwiches. Slice each tempeh in half to make two squares. Slice those squares in half lengthwise (so that they are twice as thin - really, it works!) Sprinkle the slices with soy sauce before browning them in a little oil in a saute pan. Remove. Brush one side of bread with butter, place butter-side down on griddle, layer one slice tempeh, cheese, 'kraut, top bread layer. Flip them carefully! When cheese melts and bread is crisp, open and spread the inside of each piece of bread (not just one side!) with sauce. Slather. Cut in half, serve. (My children only ate a half sandwich each, so you could say this makes 16 servings but the leftovers are so good - also, it uses up the whole loaf of pumpernickel and less kraut to throw away afterwards so I say make a big batch). The sauce I used was a sort of thousand island minus the relish: 1 c. mayonnaise 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce 1/4 c. catsup 1 tsp. grated onion You can also dip into the sauce instead of slathering the bread. I love the slather...messy though. My version has butter and worcestershire as well as real swiss, so it's not technically vegetarian. I think this recipe would get lots more attention if we had a better picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
great recipe, enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Recipie was great. I made a few substitutions out of neccessity: used pumpernickle bread, vegan swiss substitute and made a dressing with veganaise, sweet relish, tomato paste and garlic. Really tasty and will probably try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pastrami-Spiced Duck Breast Reuben

Duck breasts get the pastrami-spice treatment in this main-dish "reuben."

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States