Tempeh Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'm glad so many people liked this recipe. Thank you very much for your comments. The recipe is very easy to modify; for example, if you prefer pickle relish or bread and butter pickles to dill, you can certainly substitute. I have also added green pepper for extra crunch, as well as kalamata olives. Additionally...I myself don't like mayonnaise, so I substitute 1/4 c. olive oil. I just tried pulsing the tempeh in a food processor after simmering it and before adding the other ingredients. The texture is smoother that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
So yummy!! I've been craving tuna but not all the mercury so this was absolutely amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Fantastic! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except used a bit more tempeh and mayo. The taste and texture are convincingly close to the real thing. Perfect for those who like tuna salad but would rather avoid tuna because of mercury, dolphins, overfishing, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
YUM. Seriously delicious, even without the celery (although the consistency is a bit runny because of that omission. who cares about that!?!?). I also decreased the amount of dill pickle, since I thought a cup was overkill. Next time I'll be adding a little curry, just for kicks. I didn't bother grating the tempeh but just chunked it - it naturally fell apart during the cooking process. I used vegetable bouillon plus water instead of broth and then added cracked pepper at the very end, before I let it sit in the fridge for a couple hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Love this recipe a friend told that if you like organic carrot juice use the pulp instead of the temph makes a nice change with a bit less picle. Tastes just as good with no carrot waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Glinsmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I've been a Vegetarian for 5 years and I've been looking for a good replacement for Tuna for Tuna Melts. I used this recipe to make some Mock Tuna Salad and some Tuna Melts. I thought it was very good. The taste was good & the sandwhiches were great. It wasn't really a good substitute for straight up Tuna, but it was a good one for Tuna Salad. It takes a while to prepare so I'm not sure how often I would make this, but overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Ok, let me just say that I added too much of the mayo dressing, so I decided to add more veggies. I added shredded carrot, some green onion, and finely diced red pepper. YUM!!! I'll definitely make this again, only with less mayo. Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is so good it took willpower not to eat the whole batch as soon as I made it! I was going to make half a batch and save the rest of the tempeh, but as soon as I tasted it I threw the rest of the tempeh in and made the whole batch. I used to enjoy tuna salad a lot, and this is every bit as good. I didn't have any seaweed, so I sprinkled some Old Bay on the tempeh after it was done cooking; and I reduced the soy sauce by about half, but other than that followed the recipe closely, and I think I may like this even better than real tuna salad! It's nice and filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliemay7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
this was my first experience with Tempeh (i could only find the 5 grain kind, so that's what i used) and it was delicious! I was sure it was going to be too funky for my 2 and 3 year olds to eat, but i added it to our "tuna" melts and they ate it up! I'm not a vegan, so i just used real mayo, which was just fine. And i didn't have celery, so i added cucumber--great texture! I'm a big believer in eating fermented foods, and now this is a fun addition to my recipe box! thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BikramFan
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Just made this for dinner tonight. I was amazed by how much this tastes and looks like the real thing. This recipe is a keeper. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States