Tempeh Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Fantastic! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except used a bit more tempeh and mayo. The taste and texture are convincingly close to the real thing. Perfect for those who like tuna salad but would rather avoid tuna because of mercury, dolphins, overfishing, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
this was my first experience with Tempeh (i could only find the 5 grain kind, so that's what i used) and it was delicious! I was sure it was going to be too funky for my 2 and 3 year olds to eat, but i added it to our "tuna" melts and they ate it up! I'm not a vegan, so i just used real mayo, which was just fine. And i didn't have celery, so i added cucumber--great texture! I'm a big believer in eating fermented foods, and now this is a fun addition to my recipe box! thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
YUM. Seriously delicious, even without the celery (although the consistency is a bit runny because of that omission. who cares about that!?!?). I also decreased the amount of dill pickle, since I thought a cup was overkill. Next time I'll be adding a little curry, just for kicks. I didn't bother grating the tempeh but just chunked it - it naturally fell apart during the cooking process. I used vegetable bouillon plus water instead of broth and then added cracked pepper at the very end, before I let it sit in the fridge for a couple hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I've been a Vegetarian for 5 years and I've been looking for a good replacement for Tuna for Tuna Melts. I used this recipe to make some Mock Tuna Salad and some Tuna Melts. I thought it was very good. The taste was good & the sandwhiches were great. It wasn't really a good substitute for straight up Tuna, but it was a good one for Tuna Salad. It takes a while to prepare so I'm not sure how often I would make this, but overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
YUM!! I will confess... I had my doubts about this while I was putting it together. I played around with the recipe a bit - using sweet pickles instead of dill, adding chopped carrots for extra crunch, and skipping the seaweed, simply because I didn't have any at home (tho I might get some now simply for this recipe!) This is great straight out of the bowl, and I'm sure it will only get better as the flavors meld. I'm planning to enjoy a big scoop of this on top of a green salad... YUM! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Pretty good. I added chopped radishes because I had a ton of them from farmers' market. I also substituted capers for the pickles because I had no pickles. I added freshly ground pepper. It seems a tiny bit runny, so I might adjust the mayo/dressing or try using a little oil instead of mayo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'm glad so many people liked this recipe. Thank you very much for your comments. The recipe is very easy to modify; for example, if you prefer pickle relish or bread and butter pickles to dill, you can certainly substitute. I have also added green pepper for extra crunch, as well as kalamata olives. Additionally...I myself don't like mayonnaise, so I substitute 1/4 c. olive oil. I just tried pulsing the tempeh in a food processor after simmering it and before adding the other ingredients. The texture is smoother that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was excellent--everyone who tried it loved it, even my meat and potatoes friends. I didn't add the mayo because I didn't have it--just used a tiny bit of oil to help bind it. Also, it was a little too salty, but I'll just cut back on the soy sauce a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Very nice substitute for mercury-laden tuna. Cooking the tempeh in the broth first is important, and I used fish sauce instead of soy sauce. I think next time I will add some fish sauce and seaweed to the broth to add a little more sea flavor. Adding chopped boiled egg makes it seem even more realistic (to me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
So yummy!! I've been craving tuna but not all the mercury so this was absolutely amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States