Tempeh Mock Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nottoyield
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I'm a vegetarian, but I do miss eating tuna salad. I made a few alterations (I don't like celery, so I used cucumbers instead, and I doubled the mayo). The result was perfect! Served over fresh-from-the-oven ciabatta bread, and I'm in heaven. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Yum. This was great. Made it for my son to pack for lunch. He liked it so much he asked me to make two sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I can't believe how good this is! I accidentally added a cup of veganaise and thought it had a great creamy texture. My husband, a tuna hater, loved this. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BikramFan
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Just made this for dinner tonight. I was amazed by how much this tastes and looks like the real thing. This recipe is a keeper. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
YUM!! I will confess... I had my doubts about this while I was putting it together. I played around with the recipe a bit - using sweet pickles instead of dill, adding chopped carrots for extra crunch, and skipping the seaweed, simply because I didn't have any at home (tho I might get some now simply for this recipe!) This is great straight out of the bowl, and I'm sure it will only get better as the flavors meld. I'm planning to enjoy a big scoop of this on top of a green salad... YUM! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Pretty good. I added chopped radishes because I had a ton of them from farmers' market. I also substituted capers for the pickles because I had no pickles. I added freshly ground pepper. It seems a tiny bit runny, so I might adjust the mayo/dressing or try using a little oil instead of mayo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'm glad so many people liked this recipe. Thank you very much for your comments. The recipe is very easy to modify; for example, if you prefer pickle relish or bread and butter pickles to dill, you can certainly substitute. I have also added green pepper for extra crunch, as well as kalamata olives. Additionally...I myself don't like mayonnaise, so I substitute 1/4 c. olive oil. I just tried pulsing the tempeh in a food processor after simmering it and before adding the other ingredients. The texture is smoother that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Very nice substitute for mercury-laden tuna. Cooking the tempeh in the broth first is important, and I used fish sauce instead of soy sauce. I think next time I will add some fish sauce and seaweed to the broth to add a little more sea flavor. Adding chopped boiled egg makes it seem even more realistic (to me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was excellent--everyone who tried it loved it, even my meat and potatoes friends. I didn't add the mayo because I didn't have it--just used a tiny bit of oil to help bind it. Also, it was a little too salty, but I'll just cut back on the soy sauce a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
So yummy!! I've been craving tuna but not all the mercury so this was absolutely amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States