Tempeh Kabobs with Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Delicious! We skipped the kabobs and changed the veggies up a bit (just pan fried them, then the tempeh). Nonetheless, the marinade and the couscous were really good and went better together than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was my first time working with tempeh and it came out very well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I am only rating the couscous because it is all I made. I just wanted to experiment with couscous and am impressed, got all the boys to eat it as well! We will definetly be enjoying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
super easy and flexible. Use any mix of veggies. I broiled mushrooms, tempeh, grape tomatoes and kale. The kale would have been better boiled and used as a bed for the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is a good base recipe, however, with my modifications I found this to be a delicious dish! First off, I did NOT use Tempeh. I could not find it anywhere so I used the Extra Firm Tofu that I had. I cubed the Tofu and then marinated it in an delicious sauce called "Soyaki" that I bought from Trader Joe's. I highly recommend this sauce for Tofu, fish and stir-fry's. It is a mix between Teryaki and Soy sauce but it is thicker and has ginger and sesame in it. After marinating the Tofu for 15 minutes, I sauteed the Tofu in some olive oil and Soyaki sauce for about 25 minutes, turning the Tofu to coat both sides. While the Tofu cooked, I chopped up some green pepper, yellow pepper, garlic, ginger, eggplant, carrots, 1 vidalia onion and half a jalapeno pepper. I took the Tofu out of the pan when finished and used the same pan with olive oil to sautee about 2 tbps. of Garlic and 2 Tablespoons of fresh grated ginger. After about 5 minutes, I added the green and yellow bell pepper and 1 tsp. of minced jalapeno. We like our food on the spicy side! I then added the sweet Vidalia onion and carrots along with a few splashes of soy sauce (as called for) and several more Tbsp. of "Soyaki" sauce (instead of teriyaki sauce). Since carrots always take longer to cook I simmered this concoction for about 10 min. before adding the cubed eggplant. Unless you like really sweet food I personally think 3 Tbsp. of honey is too much so I only added 1 Tbsp. and found that it was still very sweet. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
My whole family loved this dish! A couple of my Kabobs got a bit burnt (lol) but were still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was delicious and my family is not vegetarian. My husband said I could make it anytime! I cut the oil in half and used Mr. Yoshida's Terriyaki sauce. I did not add any extra salt and it was plenty salty. I also substituted zucchini for eggplant because I wanted some green in the mix. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeahR
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Good marinade. I used some other veggies I had in the house (in the picture). Most importantly the marinade complemented the tempeh well. I used the broiler and that worked well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I modified this recipe by switching around the veggies in the kabobs-- I used bell peppers, celery, large chunks of onion, and cherry tomatoes--and by using 2 packs of tempeh rather than one as we have a bigger family. The sauce and couscous were wonderful, but I found that the tempeh cooked up rather dry. However, that's nothing that a bit of sour cream won't fix, and all in all these were quite good. A bit time consuming, but yummy and fun to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalittlebear1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These were delicious! We doubled the recipe and they served 8 people perfectly. We were out of honey so subbed some agave syrup and instead of two eggplants we did one eggplant and two medium zucchini. The cous cous was a nice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bison and Veggie Kabobs

Learn how to make lean bison and vegetable kabobs with couscous salad.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States