Tempeh Kabobs with Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I didn't make kebabs, but sauteed the vegetables. I really loved the flavor of this dish, but feel like the recipe calls for way too much olive oil. I used 6T instead of the 8 called for and still felt like the dish was too oily. I would definitely make this again, but would reduce the oil further and perhaps even increase the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is a good base recipe, however, with my modifications I found this to be a delicious dish! First off, I did NOT use Tempeh. I could not find it anywhere so I used the Extra Firm Tofu that I had. I cubed the Tofu and then marinated it in an delicious sauce called "Soyaki" that I bought from Trader Joe's. I highly recommend this sauce for Tofu, fish and stir-fry's. It is a mix between Teryaki and Soy sauce but it is thicker and has ginger and sesame in it. After marinating the Tofu for 15 minutes, I sauteed the Tofu in some olive oil and Soyaki sauce for about 25 minutes, turning the Tofu to coat both sides. While the Tofu cooked, I chopped up some green pepper, yellow pepper, garlic, ginger, eggplant, carrots, 1 vidalia onion and half a jalapeno pepper. I took the Tofu out of the pan when finished and used the same pan with olive oil to sautee about 2 tbps. of Garlic and 2 Tablespoons of fresh grated ginger. After about 5 minutes, I added the green and yellow bell pepper and 1 tsp. of minced jalapeno. We like our food on the spicy side! I then added the sweet Vidalia onion and carrots along with a few splashes of soy sauce (as called for) and several more Tbsp. of "Soyaki" sauce (instead of teriyaki sauce). Since carrots always take longer to cook I simmered this concoction for about 10 min. before adding the cubed eggplant. Unless you like really sweet food I personally think 3 Tbsp. of honey is too much so I only added 1 Tbsp. and found that it was still very sweet. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Very good! I did things a little differently...I didn't use tempeh. I used the veggies as indicated, plus 1 yellowneck squash, a little bit of diced green peppers, jalapeno, red onion and sliced carrots. Basically I cleaned out the fridge. Marinated the veggies for a little while, then sauteed them and let them simmer in the marinade for about an hour. Very good! Thank you! Oh...and I was a little worried about the salt content...I thought soy sauce AND teriyaki would be too salty, but not at all. I just didn't add salt to the couscous. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was delicious and my family is not vegetarian. My husband said I could make it anytime! I cut the oil in half and used Mr. Yoshida's Terriyaki sauce. I did not add any extra salt and it was plenty salty. I also substituted zucchini for eggplant because I wanted some green in the mix. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This was pretty good--- I used the sauce for about 16 oz. of stir fry veggies instead of doing kabobs. I made white rice with the broth and cumin, but no garbanzo beans. I would maybe go with less sauce next time, up the ginger a bit and use it again for stir fry, although I'd like to try the recipe as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I modified this recipe by switching around the veggies in the kabobs-- I used bell peppers, celery, large chunks of onion, and cherry tomatoes--and by using 2 packs of tempeh rather than one as we have a bigger family. The sauce and couscous were wonderful, but I found that the tempeh cooked up rather dry. However, that's nothing that a bit of sour cream won't fix, and all in all these were quite good. A bit time consuming, but yummy and fun to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalittlebear1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
this was good. The marinade was great and my family, who usually won't eat tempeh or mushrooms, actually ate them and said they tasted good. It needs a green veggie, though, maybe zuccini or green bell pepper. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was good, but not great. I was thinking that the whole dish would have a Moroccan taste, but it definitely does not! I would use way less oil next time and the veggies could be easily swapped out for whatever is on hand. I broiled the kabobs for about 10 minutes total, turning every few minutes. I don't feel like the eggplant cooked enough with this method, but everything else would have been burnt or overdone if I had cooked it much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merryc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This went over well at a recent potluck dinner party. Several friends raved about the marinade and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Chang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
so much work for something that tastes mediocre at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bison and Veggie Kabobs

Learn how to make lean bison and vegetable kabobs with couscous salad.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States