Tempeh Kabobs with Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Very good! I did things a little differently...I didn't use tempeh. I used the veggies as indicated, plus 1 yellowneck squash, a little bit of diced green peppers, jalapeno, red onion and sliced carrots. Basically I cleaned out the fridge. Marinated the veggies for a little while, then sauteed them and let them simmer in the marinade for about an hour. Very good! Thank you! Oh...and I was a little worried about the salt content...I thought soy sauce AND teriyaki would be too salty, but not at all. I just didn't add salt to the couscous. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
this was good. The marinade was great and my family, who usually won't eat tempeh or mushrooms, actually ate them and said they tasted good. It needs a green veggie, though, maybe zuccini or green bell pepper. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This went over well at a recent potluck dinner party. Several friends raved about the marinade and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Chang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was my first time working with tempeh and it came out very well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This was pretty good--- I used the sauce for about 16 oz. of stir fry veggies instead of doing kabobs. I made white rice with the broth and cumin, but no garbanzo beans. I would maybe go with less sauce next time, up the ginger a bit and use it again for stir fry, although I'd like to try the recipe as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
super easy and flexible. Use any mix of veggies. I broiled mushrooms, tempeh, grape tomatoes and kale. The kale would have been better boiled and used as a bed for the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
We loved this recipe and added to it a bit... we like a little heat so I added a bit of red peppers flakes to the sauce. I also added minced green onion to the couscous and used diced water chessnuts instead of garbonzos. Needed a lot of lemon, but loved it! And we doubled the quantity to have leftovers which were great cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is a good base recipe, however, with my modifications I found this to be a delicious dish! First off, I did NOT use Tempeh. I could not find it anywhere so I used the Extra Firm Tofu that I had. I cubed the Tofu and then marinated it in an delicious sauce called "Soyaki" that I bought from Trader Joe's. I highly recommend this sauce for Tofu, fish and stir-fry's. It is a mix between Teryaki and Soy sauce but it is thicker and has ginger and sesame in it. After marinating the Tofu for 15 minutes, I sauteed the Tofu in some olive oil and Soyaki sauce for about 25 minutes, turning the Tofu to coat both sides. While the Tofu cooked, I chopped up some green pepper, yellow pepper, garlic, ginger, eggplant, carrots, 1 vidalia onion and half a jalapeno pepper. I took the Tofu out of the pan when finished and used the same pan with olive oil to sautee about 2 tbps. of Garlic and 2 Tablespoons of fresh grated ginger. After about 5 minutes, I added the green and yellow bell pepper and 1 tsp. of minced jalapeno. We like our food on the spicy side! I then added the sweet Vidalia onion and carrots along with a few splashes of soy sauce (as called for) and several more Tbsp. of "Soyaki" sauce (instead of teriyaki sauce). Since carrots always take longer to cook I simmered this concoction for about 10 min. before adding the cubed eggplant. Unless you like really sweet food I personally think 3 Tbsp. of honey is too much so I only added 1 Tbsp. and found that it was still very sweet. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Delicious! We skipped the kabobs and changed the veggies up a bit (just pan fried them, then the tempeh). Nonetheless, the marinade and the couscous were really good and went better together than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I didn't make kebabs, but sauteed the vegetables. I really loved the flavor of this dish, but feel like the recipe calls for way too much olive oil. I used 6T instead of the 8 called for and still felt like the dish was too oily. I would definitely make this again, but would reduce the oil further and perhaps even increase the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bison and Veggie Kabobs

Learn how to make lean bison and vegetable kabobs with couscous salad.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States