Tempeh Kabobs with Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Delicious! We skipped the kabobs and changed the veggies up a bit (just pan fried them, then the tempeh). Nonetheless, the marinade and the couscous were really good and went better together than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is a good base recipe, however, with my modifications I found this to be a delicious dish! First off, I did NOT use Tempeh. I could not find it anywhere so I used the Extra Firm Tofu that I had. I cubed the Tofu and then marinated it in an delicious sauce called "Soyaki" that I bought from Trader Joe's. I highly recommend this sauce for Tofu, fish and stir-fry's. It is a mix between Teryaki and Soy sauce but it is thicker and has ginger and sesame in it. After marinating the Tofu for 15 minutes, I sauteed the Tofu in some olive oil and Soyaki sauce for about 25 minutes, turning the Tofu to coat both sides. While the Tofu cooked, I chopped up some green pepper, yellow pepper, garlic, ginger, eggplant, carrots, 1 vidalia onion and half a jalapeno pepper. I took the Tofu out of the pan when finished and used the same pan with olive oil to sautee about 2 tbps. of Garlic and 2 Tablespoons of fresh grated ginger. After about 5 minutes, I added the green and yellow bell pepper and 1 tsp. of minced jalapeno. We like our food on the spicy side! I then added the sweet Vidalia onion and carrots along with a few splashes of soy sauce (as called for) and several more Tbsp. of "Soyaki" sauce (instead of teriyaki sauce). Since carrots always take longer to cook I simmered this concoction for about 10 min. before adding the cubed eggplant. Unless you like really sweet food I personally think 3 Tbsp. of honey is too much so I only added 1 Tbsp. and found that it was still very sweet. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
We loved this recipe and added to it a bit... we like a little heat so I added a bit of red peppers flakes to the sauce. I also added minced green onion to the couscous and used diced water chessnuts instead of garbonzos. Needed a lot of lemon, but loved it! And we doubled the quantity to have leftovers which were great cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
super easy and flexible. Use any mix of veggies. I broiled mushrooms, tempeh, grape tomatoes and kale. The kale would have been better boiled and used as a bed for the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This was pretty good--- I used the sauce for about 16 oz. of stir fry veggies instead of doing kabobs. I made white rice with the broth and cumin, but no garbanzo beans. I would maybe go with less sauce next time, up the ginger a bit and use it again for stir fry, although I'd like to try the recipe as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was my first time working with tempeh and it came out very well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This went over well at a recent potluck dinner party. Several friends raved about the marinade and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Chang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
this was good. The marinade was great and my family, who usually won't eat tempeh or mushrooms, actually ate them and said they tasted good. It needs a green veggie, though, maybe zuccini or green bell pepper. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Very good! I did things a little differently...I didn't use tempeh. I used the veggies as indicated, plus 1 yellowneck squash, a little bit of diced green peppers, jalapeno, red onion and sliced carrots. Basically I cleaned out the fridge. Marinated the veggies for a little while, then sauteed them and let them simmer in the marinade for about an hour. Very good! Thank you! Oh...and I was a little worried about the salt content...I thought soy sauce AND teriyaki would be too salty, but not at all. I just didn't add salt to the couscous. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bison and Veggie Kabobs

Learn how to make lean bison and vegetable kabobs with couscous salad.

Chicken Kabobs Mexicana

Tender, juicy, grilled chicken skewers with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States