Tempeh Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I am not a vegetarian but this looked good so I thought I'd try it. This being a fajita recipe, I decided to prepare this with Zatarain's Spanish Rice, and the combination just made this a definite keeper and it may even become a staple for us. Thanks for the recipe Karen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I let the tempeh marinate a little while in the soy sauce and lime juice with a little garlic powder to add flavour. Also, to prevent dryness, I kept most of the water from the spinach and the mushrooms & kept a careful eye on the moisture level while cooking. Very juicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
i make this recipe all the time. i serve it over rice...not as fajitas...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Loved this recipe! As suggested by other reviewers I marinated the tempeh in the soy sauce, lime juice, and a clove of minced garlic(cause my roomie loves it!) first. Only as long as it took me to prep the other ingredients. The only other changes I made were in using Italian parsley instead of cilantro, since I hate the stuff and adding water as it cooked to keep everything from drying out too much. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was excellent!! I also marinated the tempeh with the soy sauce and lime juice. I substituted broccoli slaw for the spinach, used fresh onions, prepared salsa, and about 1/3 package of dry taco seasoning mix. My husband & I ate it over rice, and our daughter ate it on tortilla chips with shredded cheese, like nachos. I will definitely make this again, and will probably throw in some black beans and some sliced olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I used a clove of garlic (crushed) instead of the minced onion, used frozen pepper strips, and threw in some leftover rice. Then topped with salsa and rolled like a burrito. This recipe is so versatile and very yummy. I had never tried sauteeing tempeh with the soy sauce and lime juice combo. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
So good. I marinated the tempeh with the soy sauce/lime juice while I was chopping everything else up. I omitted the mushrooms and spinach since I didn't have them handy and used a jalepeno instead of the chile. I used bottled lime juice for the marinade and a few squirts of fresh cut lime into the frying pan...it was delicious and zesty. As a side I made some red beans and rice. It was a wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dontdoitjenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Best fajitas ever! I loved this. I was worried about cooking the tempeh in soy sauce because I didn't think the sauce would taste good with fajitas, but it was actually really good. I cooked the veggies in olive oil instead of corn oil and I took some of the other people's advice and let the tempeh sit in vegetable broth to keep the tempeh moist while I prepared the rest of the food. I made my own guacuamole and I added jalapenos to the stir fried vegetables for added spice. I eliminated the mushrooms and spinach because I didn't have any. I also added raw corn and salsa and wrapped everthing up in a homestyle tortilla. It was awesome. I will definately make this again in the future. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Clouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
So good and so easy! I didn't have spinach or mushrooms so I used fresh corn and black beans instead. I also used fresh garlic and chopped onion rather than the onion flakes. I will certainly make this again. (o:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
We tossed in some grilled hot peppers and had an incredible dinner. Quick and easy, a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States