Tempeh Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Loved this recipe! As suggested by other reviewers I marinated the tempeh in the soy sauce, lime juice, and a clove of minced garlic(cause my roomie loves it!) first. Only as long as it took me to prep the other ingredients. The only other changes I made were in using Italian parsley instead of cilantro, since I hate the stuff and adding water as it cooked to keep everything from drying out too much. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
A good basic dish, but I definitely made some modifications. As many recommended, I marinated the tempeh beforehand, which made it very flavorful. Instead of using green bell peppers (neither my significant other nor I are fans), I used red and yellow bell peppers, nixed the mushrooms and spinach, and used 1 clove of garlic and 3/4 of a white onion instead of using onion powder. Since I didn't have corn oil on hand, I used canola oil, which worked out wonderfully. I added the cilantro after cooking the dish (since I think raw cilantro looks prettier and imparts a more distinct flavor than cooked cilantro) along with a scallion that I had in the fridge. I served the dish with sliced avocado atop, fresh salsa, Mexican rice, and corn tortillas. My boyfriend said it was better than our favorite local Mexican restaurant's fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarathenerd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I am not a vegetarian but this looked good so I thought I'd try it. This being a fajita recipe, I decided to prepare this with Zatarain's Spanish Rice, and the combination just made this a definite keeper and it may even become a staple for us. Thanks for the recipe Karen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I let the tempeh marinate a little while in the soy sauce and lime juice with a little garlic powder to add flavour. Also, to prevent dryness, I kept most of the water from the spinach and the mushrooms & kept a careful eye on the moisture level while cooking. Very juicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
i make this recipe all the time. i serve it over rice...not as fajitas...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
So good and so easy! I didn't have spinach or mushrooms so I used fresh corn and black beans instead. I also used fresh garlic and chopped onion rather than the onion flakes. I will certainly make this again. (o:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Marinated it in the soy/lime mixture first, and sauteed with onion, bell pepper, minced garlic, jalapenos, cilantro, and fresh mushrooms. Added vegetable broth to keep it moist and a little chipotle for flavor. 'Twas quite yummy in a tortilla with lettuce and tomato. This was my first time trying tempeh, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bequita84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
We tossed in some grilled hot peppers and had an incredible dinner. Quick and easy, a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
You should DEFINITELY marinate the tempeh. you might also want to add more garlic. this is really a delicious meal, and filling and healthy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Really great! I served mine on top of rice with black beans, sort of like a burrito bowl. Love all the flavors together, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States