Tempeh Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Delicious! Didn't have mushrooms, cilantro or chile peppers. I too marinated it in soy sauce/lime/minced garlic and other seasonings (chicken wing marinade, rosemary, pepper, cayenne, crushed red pep and red pep flakes etc) for about 45 min and stirred it up whenever I thought about it. Word to the wise, I had to make at LEAST twice the amount of sauce this recipe required, I like it juicy. I marinated it in soy/lime/garlic and then made a totally different batch of the soy concoction and used that to add to the pan when I was ready for the tempeh. I put the spinach in last by letting it wilt on top of the food in the pan, then stirred. Came out suprisingly good, when I taste tested the sauce I was afraid it would come out too salty, but it had the right amount of heat and salt. Great! I did add a bit of water before I added the spinach. People talked about it being dry and I don't like dry fajitas. I just ate one. DELICIOUS. About to get another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KattyCaddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
A good basic dish, but I definitely made some modifications. As many recommended, I marinated the tempeh beforehand, which made it very flavorful. Instead of using green bell peppers (neither my significant other nor I are fans), I used red and yellow bell peppers, nixed the mushrooms and spinach, and used 1 clove of garlic and 3/4 of a white onion instead of using onion powder. Since I didn't have corn oil on hand, I used canola oil, which worked out wonderfully. I added the cilantro after cooking the dish (since I think raw cilantro looks prettier and imparts a more distinct flavor than cooked cilantro) along with a scallion that I had in the fridge. I served the dish with sliced avocado atop, fresh salsa, Mexican rice, and corn tortillas. My boyfriend said it was better than our favorite local Mexican restaurant's fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarathenerd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Made these fajitas and thought they tasted OK. Used the leftover tempeh filling the next day to make quesadillas and they were fantastic! I used fresh corn tortillas and cheddar cheese along with the tempeh mix and had a great quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daisygirl27
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Awesome recipe!! The flavors blend really well together to create a delicious fajita flavor. My one and a half daughter absolutely loves this, and she's my toughest critic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Quick and easy weeknight meal. We served it with a dollop of sour cream and some sharp cheddar in the tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
First time trying tempeh. These were good, but didn't absorb all of the flavors like I thought they would. At times it tasted like I was eating a veggie burger. Will try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Best fajitas ever! I loved this. I was worried about cooking the tempeh in soy sauce because I didn't think the sauce would taste good with fajitas, but it was actually really good. I cooked the veggies in olive oil instead of corn oil and I took some of the other people's advice and let the tempeh sit in vegetable broth to keep the tempeh moist while I prepared the rest of the food. I made my own guacuamole and I added jalapenos to the stir fried vegetables for added spice. I eliminated the mushrooms and spinach because I didn't have any. I also added raw corn and salsa and wrapped everthing up in a homestyle tortilla. It was awesome. I will definately make this again in the future. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Clouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
So good. I marinated the tempeh with the soy sauce/lime juice while I was chopping everything else up. I omitted the mushrooms and spinach since I didn't have them handy and used a jalepeno instead of the chile. I used bottled lime juice for the marinade and a few squirts of fresh cut lime into the frying pan...it was delicious and zesty. As a side I made some red beans and rice. It was a wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dontdoitjenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was excellent!! I also marinated the tempeh with the soy sauce and lime juice. I substituted broccoli slaw for the spinach, used fresh onions, prepared salsa, and about 1/3 package of dry taco seasoning mix. My husband & I ate it over rice, and our daughter ate it on tortilla chips with shredded cheese, like nachos. I will definitely make this again, and will probably throw in some black beans and some sliced olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was awful, it didn't taste anything like fajitas. My family did not enjoy this at all. I have no problems with the tofu receipes I give them, but this one was a total bust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States