Tejano Style Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Very good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very good recipe!.. I liked the flavor of the sauce. I used celery instead of cucumber because it's what I had. It still gave it the right crunch needed. I also added 2 sliced avacados. For the heat I used about 4 dashes of hot sauce tasting after each addition, that way it was just right! Served it in Margarita glasses along with tortilla chips and saltines for those who wanted them. Next time I wont use the large shrimp because it was harder to get everything on the cracker... In my opinion the smaller salad shrimp would work better. I don't see how this would serve 8... It served 4 of us all right, but we would have liked more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Freakin excellent. It is a great alternative to those old tired original style shrimp cocktail recipes. This is similiar to a ceviche. I added more of almost everything, but that was my personal preference. It was bright, colorful and very refreshing on a hot south Texas evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Highly recommended and will make again - especially good if you're following Weight Watcher's points - this is very good, very satisfying and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Amazing! I looove this recipe. I didn't change one single thing about it and it turned out great. The amount of spice was perfect for me, but of course you could add extra peppers for more. We just ate this with a fork right out of the bowl. Next time I am going to add avocado as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was pretty good but it was missing something so I added cayenne pepper to my liking and 2 garlic cloves minced.Also I think this recipe is more for two, maybe we are just pigs. :) Perfecto!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The basic recipe really is good (hence the five-star rating), but my daughter and I like a bit of 'kick' in dishes such as this: We seeded only half the pepper, plus we made the adjustment recommended by another reviewer and added avocado. Perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Reminds me of home (South TX)! Extremely tasty and popular! I used both serrano and jalapeno peppers for kick, and added avocado and a little spicy V-8 juice in place of tomato sauce. Here in Arizona, they serve this on crispy tostadas. Gracias, Rey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Loved this; it was great the night I made it, and even better the next day. I added cubed avocado and used Anaheim chilies (as that is what I had on hand) mixed with a jalapeno. Love it hot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
LOVE IT!!! I've made it twice already! The second time I decided to try the frozen shrimp so I bought the smaller already cooked shrimp. I also added avocado and I stuffed the shrimp cocktail into a pita pocket. It made an EXCELLENT lunch!! Very tasty and very healthy too!! I'm definitely making this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States