Tejano Style Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I also added 1/2 an avocado to the mix. The only thing lacking was a little extra kick so next time I'll use 2 Serranos instead of just 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
this is a great tasting cocktail....brought it to a family party went to go have some seconds and it was completely gone made 32 servings for 12 people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This is a very good summer appetizer, refreshing and cool. It's a nice switch from the ketchup-y, horseradish-y shrimp cocktails. Thanks Rey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very good recipe!.. I liked the flavor of the sauce. I used celery instead of cucumber because it's what I had. It still gave it the right crunch needed. I also added 2 sliced avacados. For the heat I used about 4 dashes of hot sauce tasting after each addition, that way it was just right! Served it in Margarita glasses along with tortilla chips and saltines for those who wanted them. Next time I wont use the large shrimp because it was harder to get everything on the cracker... In my opinion the smaller salad shrimp would work better. I don't see how this would serve 8... It served 4 of us all right, but we would have liked more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was pretty good but it was missing something so I added cayenne pepper to my liking and 2 garlic cloves minced.Also I think this recipe is more for two, maybe we are just pigs. :) Perfecto!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Oh wow, this was absolutely FABULOUS! I would give it 10 stars if I could. It tasted just like the shrimp cocktail I order at my favorite Mexican restaurant, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is fantastic. I sometimes substitute spicey V8 juice for the tomato juice and it comes out perfect every time, but with an intense heat. Thank you Rey, it is perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made this 2 days in a row for different parties... doubled the recipe, added chunks of avacado both days.. 2nd day, had less time so, used ready made salsa instead of tomato sauce... I have to say, it was just as good, if not a little better. Did not have leftovers either day and numerous comments about how great it was. Both parties were large group potlucks and the Tejano Shrimp Cocktail was the most popular both times. This recipe is a real Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
We followed it to a t, and our dinner guests raved about it! I'm doing a repeat request for easter actually. This was easy, healthy, cost effective and oh -- sooooo good! My five year old loved it as there wasn't any "sauce" he has to worry about either! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
definatly needed to add the avacado but other than t hat it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States