Teena's Spicy Pesto Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Wow, LAGIRL, you have really outdone yourself! This dish is incredible! The only changes are I used spiral pasta, and romano cheese instead of parmesan. By the way, for those of you who substitute chili powder, it's not quite the same as the paste (though if you don't have/can't find the paste, it should work). It's thick and spicy, and really enhances the flavor for the chicken. I found mine in the produce section of Ultra Foods (I would assume it'd be in the same place as other major grocery stores. I had never heard of chili paste before until I accidentally stumbled upon it and realized what it was.) They are in squeeze tubes, near the fresh herbs. Look for it, because the paste makes all the difference! Wonderful, wonderful recipe! Hands down, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I love anything with pesto and cheese so this was already a winner but adding vegetables (zucchini, mushrooms, red pepper, green pepper, onions), a bit of garlic and white wine was a huge plus to making it more nutritionally balanced and full flavoured...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I make this all the time! It's easy and tastes excellent. Couldn't find chili paste but chili powder works just as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was excellent. I added zucchini and sauteed mushrooms and quite a bit more pesto. My guests commented that it tasted like a dish from "an Italian restaurant," one of the highest compliments. Be sure to adapt it to your liking, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I changed and added a few things to this recipe and made it a 5 star but I think just the way it is would've been a little plain for me so I gave it a 4 stars. I used 3/4 of a pound of fresh shrimp instead of chicken. I also added one red bell pepper, fresh mushrooms and a can of diced tomates. Instead of just 6 Tablespoons of pesto sauce, I used the whole small jar that they have in the spaghetti aisle and I added the 4 oz. of goat cheese at the end. Also, the chili paste that I used I found in the Asian food aisle of the grocery store and it was called Roasted Chili Paste. Not sure it that is the same stuff that the recipe called for but it gave it a little kick and a nice flavor. Very good recipe with a few changes and additions. ***UPDATE*** Just made this again the other night, used diced up chicken breasts, red bell pepper, red onion and diced tomatoes. Instead of goat cheese this time, I used 8 oz of reduced fat cream cheese with the pesto sauce and 3/4 cup of half and half. The cream cheese helped the pesto coat the pasta better. It was FABULOUS!!! This recipe is so easy to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This was "TDF", to die for. I did make some suggested changes that resulted in the TDF rating. I did not have cilantro, so I used parsley. (Wife doesn't like cilantro!) I also substituted Bella Cucina Artful Food's Sun-dried Tomato Pesto. I increased the chili paste to 1 1/2 Tbs. (Sambal Oklek brand) Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I love this pasta. I can't tell you how many people I have made it for and they all love it. When I make it just for me I go very spicy, but for company I cut back on the spice. For the chili paste I use Sambal. I wouldn't change a thing. For those that don't like this recipe you must of thought you liked pesto and hot spicy food? This is that and for me couldn't get any better. Thanks LAGIRL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
great recipe! I used chili powder, and added mushrooms, garlic, and sun-dried tomatoes as others suggested. I also added half and half. I will make this again and will try with pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Added a little less olive oil and a little more samba oelek for a little extra spiciness! LOVED IT! Will definitely be making this MANY more times to come!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
My husband and I thought it was OK. Too much pesto, and the pasta would be oily; tried to cut down on the oil, and the pasta was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States