Teena's Overnight Southern Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Really good and easy. I used butter flavor shortening, and brushed w/ melted butter when they came out of the oven. If you don't have self-rising flour, add 1 1/2t of baking powder and 1/4 to 1/2t salt to each cup of all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
OMG! These biscuits are incredible! They're so easy to make and they come out light, moist, and fluffy. Plus they rise nice and high - what more could you want from a buttermilk biscuit! I used butter-flavored shortening and didn't change a thing. I left the dough in the fridge for only 6 hours as I didn't have the luxury of overnight and they still turned out perfect. I brushed the tops with melted butter during the last five minutes of baking and WOW what a great biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Best Recipe Ever!!! Be sure to use self rising flour in the dough, but use all purpose flour to roll out your biscuits on. Be careful not to twist your biscuit cutter or they will not rise well; push straight down and lift up. Also, lay biscuits on baking sheet slightly touching each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undertakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Finally the biscuit I was looking for! They were fluffy, flaky and yummy. So easy to pull out in the morning roll out the dough and bake. I did not have rising flour so I added 6 teaspoons of baking powder to my flour and 2 teaspoons of Kosher salt to the flour. I also brushed the biscuits with melted butter before I put them in the oven. I placed the biscuits slightly touching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Was there an oversight on the overnight biscuits? Should there not be some baking powder added in there somewhere? I made these & was most careful to follow instructions exactly since I was really looking forward to them. But they came out flat & uncooked, even after an extra 10 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is a great recipe. I used butter flavored shortening and good quality flour(White Lilly)and the biscuits were fluffy and were not crumbly at all. I left them in the fridge for about 12 hours. I have never made biscuits from scratch and these biscuits could have passed for "Grannies Old Recipe". I used to bake pound cakes years ago in a country restaurant and I found that using a quality name brand flour is super important. I think that the flour I used in this recipe was a key to the success of my first try. I highly reccommend the butter flavored shortening as well. If you follow the recipe, you can't miss with Teena's OSB Biscuits!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Great recipe! My family loved them and my husband thought they were as good or better than what most restaurants serve. I followed the recipe but was only able to give them 7 hours in the fridge. They were tender, flavorful and got higher than I expected. We served them with beef stew and they were a hit. Next time we will have them for breakfast with sausage gravy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Best biscuits I've ever made at home, and my kidlet is always asking me to make them. I love being able to start these the night before and let them rest. I don't keep self-rising flour around, so following another user's tip, I added 2 tbsp baking powder and 1 tbsp salt to the flour. They turned out perfect - high and light, and melts-in-your-mouth. Note that the dough is really sticky when you dump it out of the bowl. Also, remember not to twist the biscuit cutter when you make the circles if you want high biscuits. Changes: I like these better with butter-flavor shortening, just a personal preference. Also, I've subbed up to 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour for a nutritional boost, and it did not affect the recipe. Dumped in a tbsp of garlic powder & a mix of herbs one time for herbed garlic biscuits, and that was a very yummy change-up. Thanks for posting this recipe, it's my new standard. EDIT: made them last night but forgot the buttermilk - used just plain 'ole almond milk. They still rose as good as the Bisquick ones do, and tasted great. These are truly foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Wonderful! They rose nice and high. Thanks to the person who posted the mixture for if you didn't have self rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Finally I made real biscuits (not the usual hockey pucks) right out of my southern roots - used half & half,I had on hand and soured it with a 1/2 tsp. of vinegar... Thanks for the guidance of all the reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuldaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Charleroi, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States