Teena's Overnight Southern Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Really good and easy. I used butter flavor shortening, and brushed w/ melted butter when they came out of the oven. If you don't have self-rising flour, add 1 1/2t of baking powder and 1/4 to 1/2t salt to each cup of all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Great recipe! My family loved them and my husband thought they were as good or better than what most restaurants serve. I followed the recipe but was only able to give them 7 hours in the fridge. They were tender, flavorful and got higher than I expected. We served them with beef stew and they were a hit. Next time we will have them for breakfast with sausage gravy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Tara Gosse
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I forgot to mention I got 18 biscuits out of this recipe, I rolled them out to about 1/2inch and they were cut about the size of a sausage patty. Next time I will make them a little thicker and bigger for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Biscuits came out fairly well. They were not the best ive ever had, but i'll continue to tweak the recipe untill I get exactly what it is that im looking for. This was my first time making biscuits from scratch, and I think that it was an okay starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
These are as stated - light and a perfect texture. Cook Celia had trouble and questioned why there was no baking powder - self-raising flour has the baking powder already in the mix. You can't use all purpose. Good luck the next time because they do work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Finally, a biscuit recipe I can make and have rise!! This is very good. Self rising flour is called for in the recipe and it will not turn out at all if you don't use it. I like Lilly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Make sure you use self-rising flour (as the recipe states) and not all purpose flour. Self-rising already has the baking powder and salt added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Was there an oversight on the overnight biscuits? Should there not be some baking powder added in there somewhere? I made these & was most careful to follow instructions exactly since I was really looking forward to them. But they came out flat & uncooked, even after an extra 10 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
My mom, who has been making biscuits for 69 years, fell in love with this recipe when I made it! She immediately asked for a copy and it's her new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
this is a great recipe!! [=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States