Teena's Overnight Southern Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very Good although I prefer a other recipe on this site. Didn't rise like I was expecting thought they should go higher than what they did-not sure what I did wrong, had a good can of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Best Recipe Ever!!! Be sure to use self rising flour in the dough, but use all purpose flour to roll out your biscuits on. Be careful not to twist your biscuit cutter or they will not rise well; push straight down and lift up. Also, lay biscuits on baking sheet slightly touching each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undertakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Fabulous!!! I made these with the modifications for regular flour. I've actually made them twice. We loved them the first time, but the second time brushed them with melted butter and viola! Just like KFC!!! (and the second time I only had them in the fridge for about four hours) My new go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Finally the biscuit I was looking for! They were fluffy, flaky and yummy. So easy to pull out in the morning roll out the dough and bake. I did not have rising flour so I added 6 teaspoons of baking powder to my flour and 2 teaspoons of Kosher salt to the flour. I also brushed the biscuits with melted butter before I put them in the oven. I placed the biscuits slightly touching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These came out great! I made the dough in the morning and made the biscuits with Beef Stew at night and it's great!!! It's a very easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDemeri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
These are probably the best homamade biscuits that I've ever made, and I even screwed up and put in WAY to much baking powder! (I didn't have self rising flour, so I used the recipe that reviewer ADRI122 left) Very good biscuits! This will be my new go to recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Wow! These were the best biscuits that I have ever made. The rose really well in the oven and went great with the sausage gravy I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I really liked these, but my husband and his family thought that they tasted bitter. I'm not sure why since there isn't any baking powder in them. I guess they weren't sweet enough for their tastes. :0(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I did not have self- rising flour only all-purpose flour. So for each cup of all-purpose flour, I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. The biscuits turned out wonderfu.l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made these for an office function, though I have never tasted them, and they were a GIGANTIC hit! Thank you so much for posting! You made me look like a total rock star! I did finally have one a few hours later and they were great even cold. Going to make a batch with some garlic and cheese in it. No modifications needed and thanks to the person that posted how to make regular flour self rising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States