Teena's Overnight Southern Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is a great recipe! I used bread flour with 6 tsp. baking powder and 2 tsp. sea salt. I also used butter instead of shortening. I baked half of the batch right away and they were delecious! (The refridgerated ones were even better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Really happy with this recipe. Biscuits are a little dense but very tasty. The first time I made them I made the dough too flat and they came out small, the second time I made sure the raw biscuits were good thick and it came out much better. Enjoying my leftover turkey breast on these leftover biscuits from Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plantgirl33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Missy
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I am a biscuit lover who for the life of me has never been able to make a biscuit. Until tonight, these are awesome! Like others I do not keep self rising flour on hand so I mixed up the self rising flour from AR, works great! I also used butter flavor crisco sticks and made my own buttermilk, I do 1 Tbsp. vinegar to 1 cup whole milk. I refrigerated the dough for 4 hrs. These were mile high, flaky and moist, just pure yum! A huge hit with the hubby and son, which is a plus! No need to look further for a great biscuit recipe, I have found my go to with this one, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Erics favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I have been trying to make buttermilk biscuits like this since I left the South over 10 year ago and even with an altitude of 7200 feet these worked great. With a little sausage and homemade apple butter I could just as easily be at my grandmother's for Saturday morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Works out perfect everytime. I have made them and used the dough right away with great results as well. The flavor is more fully developed overnight, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe is missing ingredients- it was a big flop. I made the dough with my 6 year old son, and we were both disappointed when the biscuits didn't grow, and were raw inside... I'm going to try "fluffy Biscuits" next with Nancy Horsburgh's recipe-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Use butter flavored shortening...and add a little extra sugar. Absolutely fantastic biscuits, the whole fam and my bf love these. Honey butter is a wonderful accompaniment... 1/3 c. honey to one stick is the best ratio in my opinion. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
The best biscuits I've ever had! They are worth spending the extra money buying buttermilk!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States