Teena's Overnight Southern Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Great recipe! My family loved them and my husband thought they were as good or better than what most restaurants serve. I followed the recipe but was only able to give them 7 hours in the fridge. They were tender, flavorful and got higher than I expected. We served them with beef stew and they were a hit. Next time we will have them for breakfast with sausage gravy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
These were really good. It was my first try with buttermilk biscuits. I did have to add more flour because it was too sticky to knead, but other than that they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Wonderful! They rose nice and high. Thanks to the person who posted the mixture for if you didn't have self rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
these are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara Gosse
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I forgot to mention I got 18 biscuits out of this recipe, I rolled them out to about 1/2inch and they were cut about the size of a sausage patty. Next time I will make them a little thicker and bigger for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Really good and easy. I used butter flavor shortening, and brushed w/ melted butter when they came out of the oven. If you don't have self-rising flour, add 1 1/2t of baking powder and 1/4 to 1/2t salt to each cup of all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is a great recipe. I used butter flavored shortening and good quality flour(White Lilly)and the biscuits were fluffy and were not crumbly at all. I left them in the fridge for about 12 hours. I have never made biscuits from scratch and these biscuits could have passed for "Grannies Old Recipe". I used to bake pound cakes years ago in a country restaurant and I found that using a quality name brand flour is super important. I think that the flour I used in this recipe was a key to the success of my first try. I highly reccommend the butter flavored shortening as well. If you follow the recipe, you can't miss with Teena's OSB Biscuits!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Finally I made real biscuits (not the usual hockey pucks) right out of my southern roots - used half & half,I had on hand and soured it with a 1/2 tsp. of vinegar... Thanks for the guidance of all the reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuldaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Charleroi, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is the first time I have made roll-out biscuits, and they turned out great! I made the dough in the morning and put it in the fridge all day then baked them for dinner that night. Thanks for the tip on not turning the glass when cutting them out. And thanks to the reviewer who gave the baking soda/salt measurements when using all-purpose flour instead of self-rising. I used them (with the higher salt as my husband likes his salt) and they worked great. Like one other person I found that I had to add a little more flour to the dough, but that was no big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evilchicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Saw this recipe at 5:50 this morning and I had to try it. Sausage biscuits and gravy was on the menu for dinner so I gave them a try. They were amazing, the guys loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States