Teena's Overnight Southern Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Fabulous!!! I made these with the modifications for regular flour. I've actually made them twice. We loved them the first time, but the second time brushed them with melted butter and viola! Just like KFC!!! (and the second time I only had them in the fridge for about four hours) My new go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Finally the biscuit I was looking for! They were fluffy, flaky and yummy. So easy to pull out in the morning roll out the dough and bake. I did not have rising flour so I added 6 teaspoons of baking powder to my flour and 2 teaspoons of Kosher salt to the flour. I also brushed the biscuits with melted butter before I put them in the oven. I placed the biscuits slightly touching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These came out great! I made the dough in the morning and made the biscuits with Beef Stew at night and it's great!!! It's a very easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDemeri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
These are probably the best homamade biscuits that I've ever made, and I even screwed up and put in WAY to much baking powder! (I didn't have self rising flour, so I used the recipe that reviewer ADRI122 left) Very good biscuits! This will be my new go to recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Wow! These were the best biscuits that I have ever made. The rose really well in the oven and went great with the sausage gravy I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I really liked these, but my husband and his family thought that they tasted bitter. I'm not sure why since there isn't any baking powder in them. I guess they weren't sweet enough for their tastes. :0(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I did not have self- rising flour only all-purpose flour. So for each cup of all-purpose flour, I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. The biscuits turned out wonderfu.l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made these for an office function, though I have never tasted them, and they were a GIGANTIC hit! Thank you so much for posting! You made me look like a total rock star! I did finally have one a few hours later and they were great even cold. Going to make a batch with some garlic and cheese in it. No modifications needed and thanks to the person that posted how to make regular flour self rising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made these the other day for sausage, gravy, and biscuits, but honestly we couldn't stop eating them in time for the gravy to finish cooking. I didnt have two cups of buttermilk so I used one cup of buttermilk and one cup of skim milk with some melted butter in it. I must say this is the first time i have made biscuits successfully and my family LOVES them. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
While they rose very high which is good, they weren't the best. Fairly bland. However, I had to use buttermilk substitute. I'll try these again but I think I'll use butter flavored shortening as one reviewer suggested and I'll get some real buttermilk. Also, makes more than what it says. I adjusted the recipe to make 12, I used a glass to cut out the biscuits and the mouth is 3 1/2 inches and it made 13. If you were using a two inch cutter, you would have a lot more biscuits than you were expecting. I rolled mine fairly thick too. I'm trying to find a recipe (or create one) that mimicks the buttermilk biscuits at the Loveless Cafe in Tennessee. These don't even TOUCH those biscuits. Better than others I've tried. But still just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States