Teena's Overnight Southern Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
OMG! These biscuits are incredible! They're so easy to make and they come out light, moist, and fluffy. Plus they rise nice and high - what more could you want from a buttermilk biscuit! I used butter-flavored shortening and didn't change a thing. I left the dough in the fridge for only 6 hours as I didn't have the luxury of overnight and they still turned out perfect. I brushed the tops with melted butter during the last five minutes of baking and WOW what a great biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
hmmmm, im going to give this a three star because I was disappointed that it didn't rise as high as I hoped. It was good and I was happy with the simple ingredients. I found that the dough was a bit sticky when I was kneading it in the beginning. I dont know if this is the way it should be but I followed the recipe as is. As per others suggetions I will try it with butter flavored shortening the next time to see how that is. Other than that, it didnt taste floury at all which I was happy about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
finally! ive been determined to make bicuits like my grandma used to make. I live abroad with no access to biscuit mixes or store bought biscuits so miss them terribly . I have had some failures with other recipes but finally success with this one. i halved the recipe to try it the first time and followed the ingredients exactly . handle the dough as little as possible and follow the suggestion of not twisting the glass when u cut them . id like them to be a big " higher" but the texture is superb and the flavor delicious. cant wait to try them again. may try cutting them and freezing them so I can just take them from the freezer to bake when desired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Allow dough to come to room temp (30 min or more) before cutting biscuits or putting in oven. I cut the recipe in half, and added 1 cup of whole wheat flour (I used Gold Medal brand Whole Wheat flour but I prefer the finer texture of King Arthur brand Whole Wheat flour instead). I omitted the sugar, used butter instead of shortening. I didn't have a sifter so I used a strainer instead and moved the flour through in a bouncing motion, a sifter is better but a wire mesh strainer will do the job in a pinch (if you have two you could layer them on top of each other for a finer strain). Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RantingsOfaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I have tried so many biscuit recipes, searching for the ultimate, and this is the only recipe I have found, so far, that doesn't have a floury taste. They were so good not only in flavor, but also in texture. My biscuit recipe search stops here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Very good. I couldn't wait to bake them, so i just followed the recipe and baked them right away. Theyre very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These are so much like my Grandmother's biscuits. I did not change a thing on your recipe. The tip about not twisting, and letting them set a bit before putting in oven the cutter was great! I've always twisted, but did not this time, and they rised higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I had to make my own 'buttermilk' by adding 2Tbsp of vinegar to my whole milk. Then I let it sit on the counter while I gathered the ingredients. This morning I was able to bake the lovely biscuits while I made the sausage gravy. My husband loved them! Making food yourself is not only more satisfying than opening a can, it's better for you and the environment. Thanks for the recipe, it reminded me of wonderful summers in Alabama with my grandparents. Gran made light and fluffy biscuits EVERY morning. It's wonderful to wake up to the warm aromas of a cooking breakfast. Maybe it will help me wake up my teenagers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very Good although I prefer a other recipe on this site. Didn't rise like I was expecting thought they should go higher than what they did-not sure what I did wrong, had a good can of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Best Recipe Ever!!! Be sure to use self rising flour in the dough, but use all purpose flour to roll out your biscuits on. Be careful not to twist your biscuit cutter or they will not rise well; push straight down and lift up. Also, lay biscuits on baking sheet slightly touching each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undertakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States